annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Three

No word of a lie, I'm grateful for three different people today.



  1. Lorna, from the fitness programme I'm starting on Monday. I managed to make a profile but couldn't get any further with the website/app/whatever the fuck it is - I ended up with about eight tabs open, all fucked. I couldn't book sessions or check out what I needed to know but Lorna phoned and took me through it all, very cheerfully so I'm all set up now. I even bought a pair of dumbbells. 

  2. I took Shirley for a walk across the lockgates, parking in a place I thought was legal, paying on my phone. When we came back a traffic warden was making notes on his tablet by my car. 'Am I not meant to park here?' 'No, love, not really. You're meant to be on that marked out bit there, or in the bays.' 'Ah, man, I paid as well.' 'Never mind, I can wipe it off my screen - I haven't sent it yet.' 'Cheers!' 'My pleasure - it's not everyday I can do someone a favour!' 

  3. Tonight, being the first Thursday of the month, was sewing group and I am so fucking grateful to Jude, for inviting me to join this group. She was the beloved art teacher at the recovery centre, the one who was taken off art and put on admin duties and about a year ago, when we were really moving away from the pandemic she quietly asked if I'd like to come to this group, which she runs with her oldest friend - they were at school together. They're both pretty handy with a sewing machine and run this group in a building that's a centre for visually impaired adults during the day, with a wall that adjoins the care home where Sammie lived. I wasn't at all sure about it, for that reason, and it was a bit fucking weird, driving that route the first time, right up to the lane where the care home is, but taking the turning before. But I'd never been in this day centre before, so once I was in, it was fine. There's usually about six of us, all bringing our sewing machines and work in progress, apart from me, as I tend to bish bash bosh my way into making a garment a week. Tonight though, I was really tired. I almost didn't go, but I couldn't shift my head to a place where I could stay in with Bloke all evening, so I went. I hadn't thought of anything to make so I found a bag of patchwork pieces from the V&A that I'd pinned together once before when I was tired. I sat at my machine, sewing them into strips, periodically stopping to press the seams open, joining into the chat quite often - there's a daughter involved in that The Piano show, on to her next project, making good progress. Everyone is pissed off with the govt, Brexit, housing, NHS chaos. 

12:25 a.m. - 03.03.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Too long; don't read - 08.03.23
Mental - 07.03.23
Lucky - 06.03.23
Swimming and Dancing - 05.03.23
Over - 03.03.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter