annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kids

Today I feel most grateful for my daughter, who used to be Younger Daughter but now is Only Daughter. As Son is still out of contact she feels like Only Child but I do my best not to lay that on her, or to talk about Son much at all. 


Our relationship ebbs and flows, me and her. We see each other a lot or a little, without a real cause other than that's how it goes. We both respond to the loss of our Sammie in similar ways - filling our days with similar things, though hers are more 12 Step oriented. But we both do art groups, singing groups - she does drama I do writing. And we both swim in the cold sea. She started during lockdown whereas I've only got into it this winter. Also, she likes a rough sea and I don't but we still swim together a lot and she usually comes to join me in the harbour as you can park so close and I get fed up lugging all my stuff from the car to the beach when you have to park three streets inland. 


On Wednesdays she's now working for my niece, her cousin, who has a small baking business that she runs from home. Daughter looks after the baby while Niece is cooking and helps in the kitchen while he has his nap. Today she called in on me on her way home, to see my new rooms and it was just lovely. She was really impressed with my bedroom, how cosy it is, how colourful and snug and that made me feel good. She got onto the bed and lay there looking at things and chatting shit for ages. She also admired the studio (art/writing/yoga room) and had a few suggestions about displaying my treasures. We share that mentality as well - we both have loads of treasures which can be a nice piece of ribbon, or a tiny toy someone I met on Twitter made me, or a stone that looks like a pastry from bake off, with all the laminations - just to name three I can see from here. She has quite a few narrow shelves for displaying her treasures and I know just the bits of wood that will do the job for me.


It was so nice to just be hanging out together for a couple of hours and to feel the ease between us, unlike anything I ever achieved with my parents and something for which I am profoundly grateful.

12:25 a.m. - 02.03.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Mental - 07.03.23
Lucky - 06.03.23
Swimming and Dancing - 05.03.23
Over - 03.03.23
Three - 03.03.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter