annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Swimming and Dancing

Today I am feeling grateful for living near the city of Brighton and Hove. Yesterday I swam off Hove with a group of other women, some of whom I'd met before, most I hadn't. I was late, due to yesterday being an all round shit show, so I didn't actually swim with them, but they were still there, getting dressed on the beach and  stayed while I swam, one of them taking a few pictures of me in the water, like this:marchswim1


Yes, that's me, out of the harbour, in the open sea - woo hoo! There's been a (cold) northerly wind, and as was explained to me at the start of all this cold-water swimming malarkey, a north wind flattens the sea round here. So in I go, safe and relaxed. I'm going again in the morning - there may be more pics - as it won't last for long so I'll enjoy it while it's here. The water temperature is plummeting 6.9C/44.5F which is technically known as fucking freezing. 


Anyway, this evening, early evening I was back for the first of the season's silent discos. Yes, still fucking freezing, but I kept my dryrobe on and put the bobble hat on over the headphones


silentdisco2


and grooved my way around Hove Lawns dancing like no one was watching, because actually, no one was, there were much better people to watch:


silentdisco1


It wasn't all good - the trapped nerve gets going properly by the end of the day and it's hard to find dance moves that don't involve either jumping up and down a bit, stepping out, or wriggling your hips about. Well, one leg, foot and hip are up for any of that but the others just aren't and send shooting pains all over the place. So when I say dancing I mostly mean swaying and shuffling about with a good bit of arm action. I tried to get some video of me dancing - I saw others holding their phones up, filming themselves, so I had a go, but when I got home I realised that I suck my false teeth, all the bloody time - I don't know how anyone manages to spend time with me if I'm always doing that, and since noticing it, I've spotted that I do do it all the time. Partly because they've somehow become loose, maybe as part of that elderly shrinkage which def happens. I was always 5'9" until I had to do a BMI thing at the gym and the guy said I was 5'8", obviously a mistake - I was quite rude - but fuck me, I am 5'8 - probably 5'7 by now or 5'6 - no wonder my teeth don't fit.

12:43 a.m. - 05.03.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Lucky - 11.03.23
Oh - 09.03.23
Too long; don't read - 08.03.23
Mental - 07.03.23
Lucky - 06.03.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter