annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Too hot


  1. Today was going to be a swim with H, the woman who founded Grief Warriors followed by a Grief Writing workshop followed by zoom yin yoga. None of this happened. Good. 

  2. When my swim with H was cancelled, I was going to try to swim between writing and yoga, when it would have been both high tide and sunset. I texted Daughter to see if she fancied it and she texted back inviting me to a sauna with her and her pals, one of whom had dropped out. It meant missing the writing, but fuck it, a sauna is a treat and time with the daughter I have, so that's what I did. And how glad I am. It's a weird thing - being in the sauna is quite unpleasant - I don't do well with heat and in no time at all I find myself getting up and out of there, body making the decision for itself, mind not having a say. It's a tiny space, like the size of a small horse-box saunaso you can't get away from the fire - hot, hot, hot, squidged in with Daughter and four people I hardly know, all in our swimsuits. So, out of there, quick, as quick as I can down the bumpy shingle bank, into the freeing cold, murky water, such a contrast I'm amazed there wasn't an audible sizzle and visible steam, like in the cartoons. I think I went into the sea and back to the sauna four times - you can't stay in the sea for more than a few minutes - and then when it finally stopped and I got into my warm clothes (hot water bottle in my bag), I felt fucking blissful. warm and relaxed and fit and healthy and all round brilliant.

  3. It started to rain as I got in the car, pissed down all the way home till just before I turned the corner into my lane. Perfect. That doesn't happen very often, does it?

  4. The yoga was fucked up by the teacher's screen endlessly freezing and unfreezing - a little of that is enough for me, so I left and did a session on my own - I wrote a list of asanas so I wasn't always thinking about what to do next and used the timer on my phone. Not bad, but not as good as just following instructions. I keep having to put my glasses on and take them off, but better than missing it altogether.

  5. I'm watching The Traitors USA, set in the same Scottish castle as the UK series and with Alan Cumming, camping it up in a range of tartan outfits. It took me a while to settle in as I think the 'background' music is really bloody loud, they're all beautiful, as opposed to the UK bunch who were properly diverse in terms of size and disability etc, and many of them are reality TV people, so known to some extent by the others. But having said that I love it just as much - utterly compelling. I made myself turn it off just now though I really want to know who they're going to choose next.

12:54 a.m. - 16.01.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Here and now - 24.01.23
TMI - 23.01.23
Laters - 22.01.23
Wrongs - 19.01.23
Yarn based, mostly - 17.01.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter