annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh yeah


  1. I did my first mentoring session today. It had been sitting heavily on my mind that I'd over-reached myself, but I think it was OK. I liked her and she seemed to like me. She smiled one big natural smile towards the end of the hour and her face lit up, shedding its anxious, knotted up expression, just for a moment. So that was good and promising, I felt.

  2. Amy Bloom's new novel which I'm reading is bliss. It's about Eleanor Roosevelt's lesbian lover - I know nothing about Eleanor Roosevelt or her husband or her lover and care even less, but Bloom can do no wrong. She's one of those authors I have to read slowly, savouring every moment, so I don't finish it too quickly and lose the magic of having unread pages ahead of me.

  3. I stopped at traffic lights and a family crossed the road, including a teenage boy, pushing a pram and gazing adoringly at the occupant, a tiny baby. Cheered me up no end, seeing that face.

  4.  Yesterday I bought some goldfish. Ghost koi are all very well but you can't see the fuckers. I hope to relax by the pond, watching them mooch around. Also, seagulls keep dropping big slices of bread into the pond. What's that about? Where are they getting whole slices from? Why are they dropping them? Repeatedly, like most days. I've bought a little scoopy thing to get them out as it's happened so often and will make the water go manky.

  5. I got absolutely drenched today going to yoga as, despite having all kinds of waterproof clothing in my car, and knowing rain was forecast, and the sky being grey and heavy, I parked miles away and wandered off, wearing just a long dress over my yoga gear. I was wet when I arrived and got even wetter on the way back. It was OK though. Years ago I saw a thing about standing tall in the rain, embracing it and letting it run down your face, and it's true, it's OK when you do that, rather than hunching up and getting all miserable about it. You're going to get wet whatever happens.


I am grateful for: all the support in learning to be a mentor; being able to eat well-cooked chicken at last with my new teeth; having a pond to moan about; fish and chips for dinner; bed now

xxx

12:16 a.m. - 25.05.18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter