annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend

Yesterday I drove a load of people to a town not far away to watch our friend D in a production of 9 to 5. It was OK, pretty good really for an amateur show, fantastic voices, but we know that, there are far more great voices than there are careers in singing. I'd have liked it more if they'd made a couple of tiny changes to the script and set it in the UK, as the US accents, especially the Dolly Parton character, were just shite and disconcerting - an awful high-pitched tone when she sang, until she forgot and her own deeper, rich voice came through. 


So there was that. Also the three women I suddenly had to give a lift to really got on my nerves. The worst bit was that two of them, who didn't even know each other, both said they had teenage grandchildren who 'said they were gay' but neither of them were prepared to accept that because it's just the current thing, everyone wants to be gay at the moment. Yes, that's how the world is now. We've gone from gay people pretending to be straight to straight people pretending to be gay. Just like that. Marvellous, isn't it? Not remotely true, but they wouldn't have it. Their grandkids can't possibly be gay, they're just jumping on a bandwagon, and have been told, in no uncertain terms by their grandmothers that they'll get over it. Poor little fuckers - imagine what it takes to come out to your granny, to be greeted with this? I wanted to push the pair of them and their bloody walking sticks out of my car. I'd cleaned it as well, just for them, Jeeez. 


Today I swam with my girl in the harbour, keeping my head out of the water. I don't know what I was thinking - well, I do, I like to get right in, go right under, but the water isn't clean, not trustworthy clean. If we had any sense we wouldn't swim in it at all, but I can't do that, I can't bear to live on the coast and not swim in the sea. Now I've had a sore throat for three days. When I look at the possible effects of swimming in dirty water it says vomiting and diarrhea, so maybe it's unrelated. It's sore though. I keep gargling with salty water - NHS advice. 


I remember long ago when I was a girl, or called myself a girl but was a woman, when life seemed much harder in some ways. Now it's not so bad really, for me. I don't have to work, I get just enough pension to squeeze by, though I have stopped having coffee and cake out as it bloody adds up. 


 

11:33 p.m. - 13.11.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Seriously swimming - 21.11.22
Friday again - 19.11.22
Singing and stuff - 18.11.22
Weird shit indeed - 16.11.22
Poorly - 15.11.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter