annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sing song

Two new things today. First a new singing group. With the same teacher - the woman who gave me keyboard lessons via Facetime during lockdown - in the same church but not just gospel songs, which I found got on my nerves. But of course it's coming up to Christmas and this choir is putting on a do in December - outside, by the war memorial, singing Christmas songs, so we're back to all that malarkey. Sigh. But never mind, I like singing and the more I do it the better I get so I'll persevere and hope for less god stuff in the new year. 


The other new thing was a songwriting workshop which was fucking ace. There were technical issues like me not getting the music she shared for us to write along to, which did fuck it up to some extent. And next time I'll have a massive piece of paper rather than a notebook with pages that get filled too quickly and you end up flicking back and forth - I want it all spread out in front of me. We worked around the theme of betrayal, invited to free write first, without sharing, then jotting down any juicy words that might be relevant. We were shown images that might be used metaphorically, or might inspire anything or nothing till we had loads of words spread out, then we found rhymes for them, then linked any two together that seemed to have possibilities as potential titles or hooks. I had 'Bitter Enough' and 'Broken Grace'. I maybe took her too literally when she suggested keeping meanings as open as possible, for listeners to make their own connections. I can see the truth in that, possibly, but those aren't neessarily my favourite kinds of songs. I might fiddle about with it, try and make the language a bit sharper. 


Sleep tight, keep safe, be kind, all that kind of thing. And hugs, lots of hugs.


 

12:42 a.m. - 11.11.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Friday again - 19.11.22
Singing and stuff - 18.11.22
Weird shit indeed - 16.11.22
Poorly - 15.11.22
Weekend - 13.11.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter