annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Walking in the hills

Today was better than days have been recently. Acupuncture was fab then I went over the hills and far away to see my writing buddy and all-round compadre J, who cooked me a beautiful lunch. We sat and talked writing and therapy and knitting and dogs then walked over the downs for an hour or two and it was what my soul and spirit needed. I'm lucky to have quite a few close friends but I gradually realise that they all meet different needs. J is my writing buddy. We've been good pals for about twenty five years since she was my head of department and we immediately hit it off. Our friendship survived my breakdown where we both had different needs - she needed her department staffed, to know when I'd be back etc etc. I needed her to get off my case and let me get myself together, but that was decades ago and we're still so good. I liked it best when we lived just down the road from each other and I looked after her little dog while she was at work and she came in for a cuppa at the end of the day. Good times. 

In other news, a journalist I follow on twitter posted back in early December that he couldn't get the d1sney channel to open and couldn't watch The Beatles Get Back and it was making him crazy because he loves them so much. I offered to share my login with him and we're still chatting about it in private messages which I like a lot. He's a generation younger than me so his kids are still teenagers whereas mine are in their late 30s but all of them are mad about The Beatles so we've been good parents, at least in the sense of giving them what's now known (apparently) as cultural capital. It's strange, the connections you make. I know he lives near me and I kind of want to invite him to meet for a coffee but I can't quite manage that. Or haven't so far, at any rate. 

I'm now having to stay up for at least another seven minutes, it being 23.53 as I write, for tomorrow's wordle which I have become a bit enthused by. It's a very cunning game, issuing just one per day which is good or I'd be at it all the time. I'm already playing about a gazillion games of words with friends. I've done it now - it was the hardest one yet, partly because I hadn't eliminated a key letter that I thought I had. Sigh. 

I will say nothing about politics other than how pissed off I am to discover that the vile beast has his birthday three days after me, most unnecessary. 

Today I am grateful for time with my friend. A blessing indeed.

12:16 a.m. - 25.01.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Winner Winner - 31.01.22
Sundown - 29.01.22
Made It - 28.01.22
Knitting - 27.01.22
No - 25.01.22

other diaries:

jim515
manfromvenus
jarofporter
blueisnotred
orangepeeler
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
life-my-way
newschick
narcissa
SWORDFERN
dangerspouse
stepfordtart
ladyofjazz
outer-jessie
joistmonkey
annanotbob
simeons-twin
melodymetuka
ottodixless
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter