annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Soup and Wedding

Well, what a day. I woke up to find my Twitter account overflowing with lovely people suggesting places that would deliver hot chicken soup to my poorly boy, including an actual Rabbi who invited me to send him a direct message. Son said that would be his choice, so I did and the guy only lives two doors down from Son - so he was amazed as well and sent me a whole load of lovely messages over the course of the morning up to and including a photo of the food and drink he'd taken round to him. It was brilliant and cheered Son right up despite having lost his sense of taste and smell.

I squeezed in the last writing group of the year where I found myself writing the final segment of my Mice + Men novel in a way that took me by surprise and excited me in equal measures. Now I just have to type it all up - I have handwritten passages from different stages of the story scattered across three different notebooks but no more writing groups till well into January so no excuses.

Then off to Nephew's wedding - hooray! I was so anxious about missing it but we made it and I'm SO glad we did. This nephew was my brother's stepson from a very young age, so he's my family too and has been for almost forty years. He's a really sound human being, bloody lovely in a low-key, unassuming way and I adore him. I would have been heartbroken to not have been there, bad enough that Brother and Sammie weren't there. And they do really love each other in a way that feels solid, with possibilities of lasting - this was a great wedding but it's the start of a marriage, not 'the best day of our lives' in that way that can leave you feeling a bit uncomfortable and is often followed rather quickly by separation and divorce. The bride's father is loaded and paid for the whole thing - it was the most expensive wedding I've ever been to, but not flashy, just trays of delicious morsels of food just when you were on the verge of feeling a bit peckish and a fabulous sit down meal. Fondant potatoes, darlings, never before tasted, just seen on Masterchef. I even had a bit of a dance - well, daughter and I had a quiet dance first in the empty room, to some John and Yoko tracks that were playing from somewhere, which was lush. Then everyone came in, first dance, and we were away, a bit of Chaka Khan, a bit of Joe Jackson, bloody great but we were all knackered, so home we came. I did good mask wearing till the meal, then I forgot afterwards. Fingers crossed.

But then I got home to find AJ has had to withdraw from the Strictly final because of an injury! NOOOOO! I love that girl so much! Mind you I love the other two finalists as well - I couldn't choose between them but I feel the pain of AJ getting so close and then not being able to complete it. Boooo!

Today I am grateful for everything in my life - can't even begin to narrow it down to one thing.

Keep safe, keep safe - we've made it this far, let's not blow it now. Night night xxx

11:25 p.m. - 17.12.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Buoyancy - 22.12.21
Thanks - 21.12.21
Looking back - 20.12.21
Plans - 19.12.21
Dancing - 18.12.21

other diaries:

marywa
kelsi
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
strawberrri
dangerspouse
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
annanotbob
orangepeeler
simeons-twin
ottodixless
jim515
outer-jessie
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
stellarrobot
jarofporter
u-saved-me
blueisnotred

Site Meter