annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stolen goods

Today I went into the mall in town and noticed a new shop in the southwest corner of the ground floor. It happens that I have stolen items from shops on this precise site on several occasions, dating back over 50 years which I will share with you.

In 1970 it was Fine Fare, a supermarket, and my mate Gina and I made a big shoplifting attempt to stock up on food to take to the Isle of Wight festival. We were caught but talked our way out of being reported to the police.
In 1985 it was Mothercare. I was a skint single parent in need of a waterproof cover to protect my babes from the rain when they were in the double buggy. I had no money and no idea what else to do but go in there with the buggy, put the cover on and walk out. Which I did. I later found out they had a policy to let mothers walk out with stolen goods. Thanks Mothercare and sorry.
About six years ago it was Zara - this is the one I feel ashamed about - well, a bit. I went in there and tried to try on some trousers. I picked XL and couldn't even get them up over my thighs. When I asked what size XL was the snooty bint told me it was equal to a 14. I was LIVID and walked out with the scarf I had in my hand, not exactly on purpose, but not exactly not either.
I tell you, I had to make myself walk on by today. It's now Footasylum, with half the letters printed back to front in a way that's almost an incitement to keep up my unbroken run, but there's nothing I'd actually want in there, I don't think...

I shared that on Facebook - I don't know why really. Today was my last day in the bookshop which made me feel quite sad.

Also Son has Covid, all on his own up in London, which makes me very anxious. I've just googled food I can have delivered to him and will see if I can get him some chicken soup tomorrow. Daughter is finally watching Get Back and being all excited about it like I knew she would be but she wouldn't watch it when I did so we could chat when I could remember it.

Can I also say fuck that elf on the poxy shelf. Jeez, I don't want that all over my bloody facebook page - I need that page to keep in touch with people, especially times like these when we need to be locking ourselves down as much as possible. Mind you, I like seeing photos of our glorious leader sitting in a punt.

Today I am grateful for having worked with WS and CH in the shop for six months and really enjoyed their company.

Keep safe, people please. It's getting harder and harder. I can't believe I'm going to go to my nephew's wedding tomorrow but I shall, wearing my mask apart from when I'm actually eating, and hoping for the best given that I've had three shots. Then I'm locking down like a motherfucker.

Night night xxx

11:12 p.m. - 16.12.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Thanks - 21.12.21
Looking back - 20.12.21
Plans - 19.12.21
Dancing - 18.12.21
Soup and Wedding - 17.12.21

other diaries:

marywa
kelsi
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
strawberrri
dangerspouse
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
annanotbob
orangepeeler
simeons-twin
ottodixless
jim515
outer-jessie
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
stellarrobot
jarofporter
u-saved-me
blueisnotred

Site Meter