annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Flamingo

This was the bit I added today to the Bella file:

Before Bella had even opened the envelope she felt a sudden jerk of optimism. A handwritten envelope. Her name. She couldn’t remember the last time she’d had a letter. She felt embraced with significance. Someone had found her address and written to her. Now she just had to open it. Now she felt a bit cautious. She could hold this in her hand and feel it, quite fat, soft, a few pages perhaps, not a card. She could hold the envelope in her hand and the future was ripe with possibilities but if she opened it, her fortune could switch back, just like that. But she recognised the writing, in a way that felt safe, no dread creeping in. OK. She looked in the mirror and gave her reflection a hard stare. “I am Bella. I can do things. I am a dynamic person,” she said out loud then all at once tore the end off the envelope.

What I like about these bits that I write in the groups is that very often they dwell in a moment. If I was just writing in a normal way, I'd probably get on with it. I might say she liked the feeling she had of possibility before she opened the envelope, but this arrived in its current form because I'd been given a list of words to try and force into a piece of writing in ten minutes. Before, embraced, jerk, dynamic, switch, fortune. Embraced was a bit of a clunky fit, but mostly I feel glad to have written this.

Three Good Things
1. Sketching in the garden of the recovery centre was just fucking brilliant. Soooo good to be there, with C and just three other recoverers, so fab to have been chosen. I drew a very mediocre picture of the tree and the outbuildings, but it was all fab
2. The photo prompt for today was ice cream, which I'm not really eating. I was going to take a pic of the ice cream parlour but it was closed, so fuck it, I had an affogato - Italian, vanilla ice cream with a shot of espresso coffee poured over. Yum.
3. I bought a metal flamingo in a junk shop. I didn't mean to, but there you go, sometimes it's OK to be a spendthrift. It was only £20, which might be a lot for a flamingo but it's not bad for a spending spree. I came straight home after.

Night night xxx

10:48 p.m. - 26.04.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

fuck it - 07.05.21
Jab 2 - 04.05.21
Sunday Sunday - 02.05.21
Better - 01.05.21
No - 29.04.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter