annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday

It feels like years since I updated but it was only a couple of nights ago, and as though everything is moving to some sort of crescendo, though fuck knows what.

The bloke across the road and his brother have bought quad bikes which they're working on, involving revving them up, riding them round the block, sitting on them and shouting at each other with the engines still running and generally making zoom meetings bloody hard, to say nothing of trying not to be livid a lot of the time.

I've kept up at the Bella bits, though it's been quite shocking how my rubbish memory is revealed through the changes I make. Bella has a sister - I finally opened the file on the first novel, and found the sister is called Gina. In my recent writing she's called Julie sometimes, which surprised me as I know it was something entirely different more recently - maybe Sophie. Lockdown comes and goes, as does the city she's living in. It would be OK if I was making different conscious choices, but it's not that, it's that loads of it has been erased from my short term memory without making it into the long term bit. I even have a couple of sections where Bella's dad is South American and she's out there with him, on her way to meet her abuela for the first time. Still, I'm liking quite a lot of it, still got loads to type up, and it's all possibilities at this stage. I can do what I like with it, and it has something. A couple of people in different writing groups have said they like that Bella is flawed but that I write her from her own point of view. I think they mean she's an unreliable narrator, always my favourite kind.

As well as that I've been walking in the sunshine, my foot is better so I can put the miles in a bit more. Lots of woodland walks, keeping away from the seafront and all the weekend crowds. Tomorrow I am going to one of the recovery centres, the city one, to sit in the garden and do sketching - first time anyone has been allowed on the premises since March 2020. I had a call from C, the lovely, favourite art group co-ordinator, to talk about Covid regulations, and honestly, just the sound of her voice was enough to almost make me cry, just great big sobs of relief at hearing her. But I didn't.

Three Good Things:
1. I tidied up the little art room, for the first time in ages. Much easier now I've been using it and know what I need to be able to access and what can be shoved out of the way.
2. I made lots of calls and texts to book walks and meetings with people I miss. Good.
3. I found the bluebell woods today - turns out they are late this year as it's been so dry, but they're out at last, so beautiful, the best blue and the best green of those freshly opening leaves on the trees...

11:04 p.m. - 25.04.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jab 2 - 04.05.21
Sunday Sunday - 02.05.21
Better - 01.05.21
No - 29.04.21
Flamingo - 26.04.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter