annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 154

I've done shit loads today - one extreme to the other.

At writing group we were shown a photograph of a rock surrounded by iron railings - part of an ancient stone circle - and invited to write whatever we liked. Eight minutes.

She was to meet him at the stone. The stone on the hill, inside the railings. Honestly, he was such a drama queen - he could have suggested meeting at Pret or the pub, but no, it was a two mile walk, out of town, up a steep hill, on a grassy path. He'd probably got something big to tell her, something awful, and he wanted her here where no one would hear her shouting. There was a bench just up ahead. She sat down, a bit out of breath and pulled her baccy from her back pocket. It was quite cool up here, actually. She'd never come right out onto the hills before. She could see the city spread out below, the grid of streets, including... yes, her street and what must be her flat. The industrial areas with big roofs and jumbles of buildings all shapes and sizes. And the hills - so much green. It was a bit squidgy underfoot but smelled fresh, in a good way. Birds were swooping about, singing and there was a noise... was it?... it was - sheep baaing, she could see them just down below. It made her think of nursery rhymes - she'd thought they were all nonsense, but whaddaya know - sheep do go baa. She finished her rollie and stood up. Her route took her round the side of the hill and as she climbed, the view changed. She could see fields, dissected by roads, with tiny cars moving along

That was as far as I got. I imagined her as the adult of one of the kids I used to teach who'd never been up on the hills. Or the care home manager, in her thirties, lived here all her life, went in the sea for the first time on Wednesday (with me!).

I walked the dog - the temperature and humidity have come back down and it's grey skies, proper British summer, so I'm going to get in shape for the sponsored walk on Sept 12th. There was a pop-up Covid testing station in the car park and I got chatting to another dog walker as we both passed by. She works in a care home and apparently the news is that there's a local home with 18 new cases just diagnosed. Jeez. I didn't get tested. Maybe I should have.

Online art with the fabulous Art Enthusiasts in London, Monet's waterlilies.

A975356B-AB88-48D3-9F17-CE068C56D5AD

I might do it again, better.

For tonight's carb-free dinner we had courgetti carbonara, which is where you use courgette instead of spaghetti. Carbonara is bacon, garlic, cream and parmesan. As I'm on a veg kick, I got bloke to add spinach and we had it with french beans and tomatoes. Delish and I'm still not hungry. Porridge with berries for breakfast, two egg omlette for lunch and a handful of cherries at some point. I'm practically a fucking saint, I tell you.

Son's ex-girlfriend, the one we all loved, got married today. I almost cried, but managed to send her congratulations. Why are we friends on social media if she's going to break my heart?

 

12:44 a.m. - 15.08.20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Day 163 - 24.08.20
Day 159 - 21.08.20
Day 157 - 18.08.20
Day 156 - 17.08.20
Day 155 - 16.08.20

other diaries:

u-saved-me
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
strawberrri
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
annanotbob
joistmonkey
manfromvenus
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ottodixless
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
kelsi

Site Meter