annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meme

Bex did this and I thought I would too, by way of a change, see where it goes.

Last Day of November Meme

1.WHAT WAS THE LAST SONG YOU LISTENED TO THAT WASN'T SUNG IN ENGLISH?

Ca Plane pour moi, by Plastic Bertrand. Every now and then I listen to it online, so about three weeks ago. I like the oo oo ee oo bits and him, I like watching him and remembering that I was like that once and feeling it inside again.

2.FIRST ALBUM YOU EVER WENT AND BOUGHT WITH YOUR OWN MONEY?

Cat Stevens 'Matthew and Son'

3.WHEN DID YOU LAST PLAY A GAME?

Cribbage with Grandson a few months ago. I taught him when he was dead little, and from the beginning we've both always played flat out to win. Crib requires both luck and quick thinking and the little sod has always been able to beat me, unless the luck runs against him. For all my hippy shit, I always want to win games. Except wordscraper with LA, where I can go for ages without remembering to even look at the scores.

4.WHAT WAS THE LAST VIDEO GAME YOU PLAYED?

I played Indiana Jones and the Something or Other, in 1992 or 93, in the evening, while I was doing my teacher training. There was one bit I got stuck on and it drove me fucking mental trying to work it out. Hours and hours late at night, night after night, into weeks, until Bloke asked his mate what I needed to do. When I'd finished the game, I looked back at how it had eaten my life, how I'd felt while it was doing so, and what I had to show for that time, and thought, nah. Not for me. Haven't felt remotely tempted since, though there's also been a sadness at stepping away from a shared popular culture.

5.HAVE YOU EVER BEEN IN A MUSICAL?

Panto, when I was a teacher. Nuff said.

6.DO YOU FOLLOW YOUR OWN STYLE OR EVERYONE ELSE'S?

My "style" consists of lots of items that have attracted me for one reason or another, with nary a thought as to what they will look like together. I've tried to avoid dull colours since catching a train to London the morning after watching a Bollywood film - why do we dress all in neutrals when colour brings so much cheer?

7.WHAT'S THE LAST STORE YOU BOUGHT FROM?

Today I bought Indian Ink and a dip pen-holder from the art supplies shop. The teacher at art club suggested I try this as there's more 'flexibility of line' than the pens I use.

8.IN RETROSPECT, HAVE YOU EVER LET A PERSON USE YOU A LOT?

Ach, I don't think that's a very useful way of looking at things. I mean, who cares? We all make choices and all those choices have consequences. Who can say for sure what motivates anyone else?

9. WHAT WILL YOU BE DOING 2 DAYS FROM NOW?

Jesus, let's not get ahead of ourselves, there's tomorrow to get through first.

10. DID YOU EVER BELIEVE THERE WERE MONSTERS IN YOUR CLOSET?

No. I never needed to make things up to be scared of.

11. WHEN YOU GRADUATED HIGH SCHOOL, DID YOU LET RANDOM PEOPLE SIGN YOUR YEARBOOK OR JUST CLOSE FRIENDS?

I'm a Brit, and an old Brit at that. n/a

12. WOULD YOU CONSIDER ADOPTING A CHILD WHO HAD A MENTAL ILLNESS?

Don't get me started on what I think about this as a question.

13. DOES THINKING ABOUT DEATH SCARE YOU?

No. Not since Julia died. I still feel there's more to me and Ju, plus, if she can do it, I can give it a fucking go. Not yet. I can't bear the thought of leaving my kids without a mother, not yet. That scares me, especially for YD and GS.

14. WHEN YOU DIE, DO YOU BELIEVE THAT YOU WILL GO TO HEAVEN OR HELL? AND WHERE WOULD YOUR SPIRIT GO?

I believe that not a single person alive knows the answer to this question - all they have is hope.

15. WHO DID YOU LAST WRITE A SNAIL-MAIL LETTER TO AND WHY?

To my landlord, after my six months lease was up, telling him that I liked it and would stay on.

16. DO YOU CARE WHAT PEOPLE SAY OR THINK ABOUT YOU?

I care about the people I care about - I hope my friends and family think I am a decent person, but I don't give a fuck what passing strangers (or readers) think. I'm not to everyone's taste, but then, who is? Not even Jane Austen or Jesus.

17. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN THREATENED?

Yes, several times. Here's one. 1980. A small town in Venezuela. Me, young, dancing in the dark, to loud salsa with T, who became the father of my kids but was then just the hottest bloke I'd ever laid eyes on Off our tits (gloriously, staggeringly) on a rather special blend of Mandrax, marijuana and alcohol, horny as hell, all over each other. Glued together by lust and sweat, dancing how we wanted to (and soon would) fuck. I was wearing a white boiler suit and had cropped hair, a vison of womanliness unfamiliar to the armed military police, on whose base the club night was being held. They thought we were two men - I was grabbed from behind and spun round to face a wall of hatred and guns, big guns. Fuckers - their faces when they saw that I was a female and a 'gringa' - they couldn't apologise enough, but what if I hadn't been? Fuckers.

18. WHICH SIDE OF YOUR FAMILY DO YOU GET MOST OF YOUR QUALITIES FROM?

As my mother died when I was a baby, probably my father, though I got gardening from my step-mother (via Alice Walker's 'In Search of Our Morhewrs' Gardens)

19. WHAT WAS THE LAST THING WITH ALCOHOL THAT YOU DRANK?

This fucking Limoncino I brought back from Italy, which I thought was the same as Limoncello, but it's not, it tastes like artificial lemon flavouring, sweet, vile. I was so disappointed, but it's in the freezer and I have a slurp of it every now and then. Tuesday.

20. NAME SOMEONE WHO MADE YOU LAUGH TODAY.

Joan Rivers being fantastically explicit about her sexual needs on a chat show in front of those two cunts from Top Gear

11:33 p.m. - 30.11.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter