annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good Things


  1. I listened to Prof Tim Spector being interviewed about diet - here https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/just-one-thing-with-michael-mosley/id1560369423 and decided to keep track of how many plants I eat, starting today. Doing that made me chuck a few more bits of this and that into the stew I made so I'm up to 15 already - only another 15 to go for my thirty different plants a week. Breakfast had tomatoes, potatoes, coffee and pepper (I forgot to add the pepper so 16 altogether). Dinner had onion, leek, carrots, courgette, lentils, pearl barley, rosemary, cabbage, then for pud mango, raspberry and coconut (a brilliant ice cream recipe - blitz frozen mango with a can of coconut milk and freeze), and some chocolate after. He says to count everything that grows, so yes, coffee and chocolate and herbs and spices. Olive oil too. 17. The stew had some lamb in it, but not much. 400g for two of us for two meals. I'm trying to get as healthy as I can, diet and exercise mainly.

  2. And I did yoga, in my new, clutter free room. As I've lost all my teachers I actually put together a sequence myself and did it at the time the class used to be. I'll try and keep this going, though I feel I need to have a teacher check me out now and then to make sure I'm still doing things properly. There's always the voices of those teachers ringing in my ears saying, "Anna, lower your shoulders," or "relax your jaw," which I try to check in on as I do it. Yin is a good form for doing yourself - I find hatha hard to relax into alone - too many poses - what shall I do next? Have I held this for long enough? but with yin you hold each one for 3-6 minutes on each side, so write a list and use the timer on your phone. I needed it - it's been a couple of weeks now.

  3. I'm halfway through my temperature blanket - you choose a colour to represent the temperature - I have one for every two degrees C - and do a row every day in the appropriate colour. I'm doing noon wherever I am - I set an alarm and screen shot the weather app - some people in the group doing it get themselves in a right state about accuracy and consistency, but really, no one's going to come round and say "Excuse me, I think you'll find the temperature in Brighton at noon on March 17th was 6C and you have it as10C. Go and stand in the corner." Sadly, now I have the bed assembled I discover that this won't be quite wide enough. There's a good edging you can do that traps and hides all the loose ends, so I'll do that but I'm very uncertain as to which colour will go well with all of it. It's going to be yellow and red for a while, possibly purple if it gets that hot, then back to greens and blues. I'm not doing white as it will only get dirty and I don't want black as that creates a particular vibe. So maybe grey... Here it is anyway crochetjul2

11:34 p.m. - 02.07.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

SGW - 10.07.23
Good stuff - 07.07.23
Yayness abounding - 06.07.23
Blimey - 05.07.23
Quick ten minutes - 04.07.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter