annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Walking in the Rain

There was an article in The Guardian yesterday (or one that I read yesterday, at least),  about the virtues of getting outside for a walk, whatever the weather, whatever the time of day. Since having Covid back in June/July I've let my walking fall right away so today I decided to follow this advice. I took Shirley with me to acupuncture - she's not allowed in but at this time of year she's fine in the car for forty-five minutes - then we went for a wander round the city. By this time it was almost dark, 4pm, ffs, and raining, but I had my mac and the dog doesn't care and it was indeed really good. Loads of people, loads of snippets of conversations - "I told him I couldn't play bass but he still..." He still what? That was the one that stuck.


We sat outside a cafe under an awning where I had a coffee and a scone while some bloke in a black beret tried to rustle up a bit of cash by singing awful John Denver songs and strumming the shit out of a knackered guitar. Even if he'd been good, busking is a hard way to earn a living now we're moving away from cash. 


I'm trying not to spend money but I bought a metre of white muslin for kitchen use as all the pieces I have are now stained by rose hip syrup making. Only £3.50 so not a big expense. Then I wandered in and out of haberdashery shops in search of buttons sewn onto cards in rows, for use in the gelli printing. I got a handful of lovely old mother of pearl shirt buttons from the fancy fabric shop and a few cards from the big junk/antique shop. Everywhere we went Shirley seemed to think they'd have a treat for her so she went straight for the shopkeeper, wagging her tail and tilting her head to one side, expectantly. Everyone thought it was just for them, "Oh, she likes me! I'm good with dogs. Isn't she lovely? Hello, darling! Can I stroke her?" No one had a biscuit at all, but she remained happy and wagged her tail all round town, like the good little dog that she is.

12:06 a.m. - 01.11.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Today in Pictures - 06.11.22
Saturday - 05.11.22
Crafty - 04.11.22
Wow - 02.11.22
Yikes - 01.11.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter