annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bookshop and gratitude

Just time for a quick entry before the light goes. Why have I not been writing? How can I go from a full year of (almost) every day - just missed maybe five out of 365 - then nothing for weeks on end? These are fairly rhetorical questions as I don't know the answers so you certainly won't.

What I've been doing recently has mainly been focussed around the therapy, going into it all slowly, preparing for more depth. I kind of like it, though it is exhausting, but I have total confidence in my therapist, who is very experienced and works for the courts and the prison service as well as taking private clients. I can't manage to write about it in a few sentences though. It's either this much or a whole fucking book, so I'll move on...

I started volunteering in a pop-up bookshop that's about getting emerging writers from disadvantaged groups linked up with mentors. From September there are also going to be workshops and classes (Covid permitting) and I'm hoping to be able to do some of my writing workshops. So far it's been great - I just do one morning a week - and I really like the other two people who're there then. One of them is a local crime fiction writer who set up the whole project and the other is a performance poet. She gave us a show of some of her work last week, so I took along my bit about Sam and the nature reserve (last post but one), and read that, with a very pleasing response.

I didn't manage to sort out a source of light to shine on the keyboard in here, so I'm off for now. I have a load of candles, but can't find anything to light them with - a fucking sorry state for a once dedicated smoker like myself. No lighters or matches in the whole house - unbelievable.

Not blogging has led to not posting gratitudes, which is not good. The photo a day thing I've been doing on and off forever has dedicated August to gratitudes, which I like - a different thing you're grateful for every day for 31 days. You can find it at #fatmumslim or #photaday or #fmspad on twitter or instagram if you fancy joining in. I started with coffee vans, which have suddenly popped up in loads of places, but especially places where dog walkers pass through - crossroads of good paths. Today I had a coffee and a flapjack at a van on the side of the old toll bridge, a junction of four different paths. Very nice. I chatted to an old man whose wife was in a wheelchair, watched gulls floating in the wind over the river, and knew life could be a lot worse.

7:43 p.m. - 01.08.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Two Years - 31.08.21
Monday Monday - 09.08.21
Air signs, innit - 08.08.21
Sam's 40th - 05.08.21
Covid and stuff - 02.08.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter