annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fence

For fuck's sake, we've only got a fence put up between us and next door. Hardly a year - well, not much over a year - since the Leyland Cypress hedge was taken out. Next thing you know we'll be planting stuff. Here they are, the two lads doing it, seen through the window:

img_6860

and this is the view from upstairs

img_6859

 

I went out at this point, and it was dark when I came back so I haven't seen the final thing, but now we can start making a garden! First thing is to get a reel of that fluorescent string (just googled it, it's called brick line, I discover), to lay out and make shapes with. The garden is 90 foot long and 30 foot wide, which in the UK is untold acreage. I want to have it all planted with just a wandering path taking you to the other end. There will be a pond - a naturalistic one, a veg plot, a greenhouse, loads of places to sit, lots of climbers and hedge type things down the sides to obliterate the sight of the ugly fences. But mainly masses of beautiful plants. You won't be able to see the sides - ah, I can't wait.

 

Apart from that, today I walked all over the city, not just to yoga, but on to the recovery centre where I had some help with the application form, then back again, 6.4 miles, with a strong yoga class in the middle. You may be asking yourself what they have done with annanotbob, as she has obviously been stolen and replaced with a facsimile.

 

The application form is for a writer-in-residence post at the recovery centre and I'll have to give the link to this blog which is making me feel very self-conscious and awkward about writing. Also, and this is mega-cringe-worthy - one of the things I have to write about in the personal statement is my "ability to inspire others", for fuck's sake, and I need to demonstrate that although I haven't been published on paper, I do have readers who come back, and some who have followed for a good long time. If any of you could bear to say something about why you do, about what you like and all that, I would be so grateful, esp if you give explicit permission for me to use it.

 

And now it's time for bed. Three blogs in a row - yay - it's much better to be writing than not writing, don't you think?

I am grateful for: the fence, the fence, the fence - who'd have thought a shitty old fence had the power to light up my life? Also: the energy to walk; help with the application; art tomorrow; bed now.

 

Take care, dear friends. Sleep tight xxx

11:36 p.m. - 16.01.17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter