annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gone

I've been thinking quite a lot about online friendships recently. My writing pal, B, lost an online friend a few months ago and wrote an article, this article:


https://www.huffpost.com/entry/disenfranchised-grief-online-friends-loss_n_64ce692de4b0313d2fcb547b?fbclid=IwAR3R_Axj5tUVL34jHWAQuAWD1i2EAAj8ppSEe54UcklBgXVeAUdXqA63D1k#


about how these days many of us form quite close relationships with people we 'meet' online and how when they die, we're left alone and adrift, with no rituals, no idea of what to do, of how to honour our friend and our friendship. She's right - it's hard. I've been having a big think to see if I can come up with something but no luck so far. I was given a link to watch Poolie's funeral on video but after the event and that's weird as well. I remember when my aunt died of Covid during the early pandemic and only eight people were allowed to attend her funeral and it was on a zoom link or something and it was awful. In real life you wake up knowing you have a funeral that day, put your appropriate clothes on, go to the place, talk with other mourners outside and all of that was missing. Just me at home, looking at the clock then connecting to zoom and sitting on my bed - all wrong. 


I don't know - weird times. Is Covid coming back? 

11:46 p.m. - 26.08.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Ginger - 03.09.23
Gone - 31.08.23
Swim - 30.08.23
And another five - 29.08.23
Five - 28.08.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter