annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Swim

<p>I wrote a whole entry last night and the fucking thing froze and I lost it. Part of it was a bit of enthusing about the Mental health Swims as I've been asked for a testimonial they can use in a fundraising drive - I hadn't realised they're a national organisation and they're raising money to train more hosts. So here I go again, writing it to you as that seems to be the only way I can write without it sounding all stiff and horrible.</p>


I like that the MH Swims are reliable - they're in the same place at the same time on the same day each month and at least one of the two friendly hosts will be there, usually both. Whatever the weather, which is brilliant. We were mostly lucky with the sea this winter, but on days when it's a bit wild it's great to be there with a crowd of experienced swimmers who know when to get in and lark about and when to 'pilchard' - sit on the edge and let the waves break over you. Sometimes I lose my nerve and there’s always someone to hold a hand, to understand that the sea can be scary. But the buzz when you do get in, especially in the cold! First it’s awful, icy, then it’s bearable, then you have to get out and you feel a million dollars! Energised, strong, ready for anything! I've met some great people too - some who've been sea swimming for years, decades even, others just starting out. We share stories and gear - I've borrowed a swim hat and leant out a spare towel. This week, as we sat on the beach drying off, drinking our coffee, eating cake and biscuits, we discussed shoes to choose and those to avoid for shingle beaches and [how long it's been since we last had sex. When I mentioned that I hadn't had any this century one woman laughed so much she spat her coffee all over the stones. Definitely rude. Very rude.] whether Dri-Robes are worth the cost. I love it. 


The bit in square brackets won't go in - well just to A, the woman host as she'll laugh. Son is coming down tomorrow evening and staying the night here to have time to do the memorial for Sammie on Friday. I know - amazing but also quite anxiety provoking. This is about Sammie not about me and him - we'll have to deal with that another day. Still, knowing he's coming has made me see the house through his eyes so there has been cleaning and tidying and putting away. 

9:28 p.m. - 30.08.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Back - 10.09.23
Tuesday is Soooop, is everybody happy? - 05.09.23
Moaning on a Monday - 05.09.23
Ginger - 03.09.23
Gone - 31.08.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter