annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks

We made it through another day, somehow. Being pleasant to Bloke on his birthday was not entirely successful as he became a bit too happy about it. He loved the presents, the card, the way I'd set them on the table, meh. The meal was OK - good food and both Grandson and Daughter fine and jolly, very chatty and they're quick and witty - well, let's face it, we all are, Sister's kids are as well - so lots of laughter. But after that it was just me and him, stuff I'd organised so only myself to blame,  but Jeez, you know?


But meanwhile, my bread-making is going from strength to strength - sourdough, I can't work out the proportions but I use 300gms of strong white flour, and 170gms of wholemeal and it's so fucking delicious it's all I can do not to just cut off slice after slice and eat it with nothing more than butter - fresh out of the oven, made from just flour and water and the sourdough starter which is also only flour and water, and then I had a slice with the apricot jam I made last week which was even better. Simple things. Yum. 


I'm still working through the old blog and came across an entry about gratitude, and the scientific evidence that finding little things to be grateful for really does cheer you up. So I'm going to write down now ten things that I'm grateful for, quickly.



  1. My little dog, who is a source of so much happiness

  2. Daughter - probably my best pal apart from when we fall out, which we do quite often

  3. Grandson - his mother, my Sammie, would be so fucking proud of the beautiful young man he's becoming

  4. Being able to make such good bread - it was quite shit for quite a while, but I persevered and now it's lush (I may have mentioned that)

  5. Having a harbour to swim in, where the water is actually quite clean as the river flows out taking all the shit with it.

  6. Having a ,lovely art room even if I can't find where the fucking pencils are.

  7. Yoga tomorrow - yay - my guy is back - maybe just for a one off but maybe regularly

  8. My grief swimming gang of pals - I'm so glad I can still make new friends - my therapist tells me this is quite rare at my age - who knew? H does annoy me - we may fall out over the issues around trans women - she sees them as a threat to cis women, who she calls real women, but I hope we can put that aside. I am going to ask her not to make comments on posts on my page about it though, as I have several non-binary friends, none of whom chose to be fucking non-binary and I don't want them reading shit on my page. But I still love her - can't believe I haven't known any of them for a year yet.

  9. Rain, lovely rain, pouring out of the sky, watering my runner beans and my lovely echinacea - my latest favourite plant

  10. I don't have to set my alarm tomorrow


Night night xx

12:11 a.m. - 23.07.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Tech no - 29.07.23
Forms - 28.07.23
I saw a mouse - 27.07.23
Tues - 25.07.23
Meh - 25.07.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter