annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comfort

I was reading an article about Brits being the second biggest users of cocaine in the world (after who?) and came across this



"Ask any shrink what the most important question in any therapeutic assessment is and they’ll say:


“Who did you go to for comfort as a child?” The answer, clearly, should be Mum or Dad, or Granny, or at least someone. But ask addiction therapists like Josh Dickson what the answer is for addicts and “It’s usually ‘no one’, or ‘the dog’. "



Well, I guess I'm winning because I've never been an addict to anything other than tobacco, which isn't a mood-altering substance, but I suddenly became overwhelmed with sadness for little Anna who never even thought of seeking comfort from parents or grandparents - not within my memory - not even the concept of being comforted. Meh. I'm still not good at it though I try now. It's probably connected to the 'safe place' thing. When asked to think of a safe place, either real or imaginary, I don't have one. I always used to pretend until this current therapist, the first actual therapist rather than counsellor, and I told her. I didn't realise at the time that these were all clues to how deeply fucked up I was. I'm not out of it yet, but I'm on my way. 

11:57 p.m. - 23.12.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

20:10 - 03.01.24
Wind and wool - 03.01.24
New Year - 02.01.24
Hello/Goodbye - 01.01.24
Christmas and that - 31.12.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter