annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

20:10

3/1/24
So tired again, another mad day. Started with the WAFA workout, the HIIT shit, at 9.30. Many people I know would already be up by then but I have to set my alarm. 8.20, snooze, 8.30, snooze, 8.40 oh all right, for fuck’s sake, you don’t need to go on. Downstairs, espresso pot on the stove, dog out, yawn, back upstairs with coffee to try and find my PE kit – I expect there’s another name for it these days but I tend not to hang out with people who wear such outfits so I’ve no idea. I used to put my teeth on to soak so I could have them brushed and in place for the workouts, but fuck that. No one’s looking at anybody else, apart from the one taking the session and she’s a tough cookie, she can cope.
Back upstairs, clear all the mess from the abandoned collage workshop last night. Put it in sensible piles for once rather than just chucking it all together any old how. Fill my water bottle, open the window a bit, log onto my tablet and we’re off. This session was called a tabata – not sure which aspect of it lays claim to that name, but there were eight movements, twenty seconds on, ten seconds rest, in sets of two movements, each movement repeated eight times. Then another two and so on. I’m meant to be not pushing myself too hard, so for each one I choose the beginner’s option, usually standing rather than on the floor, lighter weights, that kind of thing. And I never pick gallery view – I just have the teacher on – I’m not into comparing myself with anyone else. My aim is to build up some core strength as I move towards old age, and better balance which helps maintain posture and prevents falls. Theoretically at least. I don’t want to be knocked down in the sea by waves everyone else is just walking through and I want to be able to walk up and down hills without getting so tired.
Had a mad dash into Brighton to buy some fabric for tomorrow’s sewing group. I’d spotted a new fabric shop in town with loads of different Indian cotton, block-printed, indigo dyed. Fucking lush. I knew I couldn’t afford it but I also knew I didn’t care. I’m going to make some cushion covers for the art room and a nightie. I spent £38 including thread – I almost went to the shop and bought a pattern for the nightie but suddenly got all economical and decided to cut round my favourite one. I’m going to try and do it properly, instead of being all slapdash, like I usually am. Famous last words, I know. Or maybe I’ll go back into town tomorrow and get a pattern.
After that it was a swim in the harbour with Daughter as the sun went down, a walk round town with the dog - she’s driving me mad at the moment. We have glass doors out the back which means she can see into the garden where the foxes come to and fro all evening, making her get over-excited and bark like fuck. I found a big piece of card that went across the doorway, blocking her view and all was peaceful till Bloke threw it out last week, “having a tidy up”. I’d say it’s his turn to find a bit of card that’s about four foot by two foot, but that would be a waste of time.
Also, Traitors, season 2, oh yeah. Love it, love Claudia, managed not to go straight to iplayer and binge the whole series


11:25 p.m. - 03.01.24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Bella gets in the sea - 08.01.24
Afternoon in the museum - 08.01.24
Funerals and festivals - 07.01.24
That Dog - 06.01.24
Round the Corner - 05.01.24

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter