annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wind and wool

2/1/24
In the Post Office today, two people in front of me in the queue. 1) was buying Euros – the exchange rate is almost parity (I think) I was eavesdropping, trying not to lean forward too much, too visibly, but I am a bit hard of hearing. It was around 2 euros to the pound once. Good work, Brexit and govt. I think it’s the same with the US dollar – almost parity. 2) was a bloke from Ladbrokes (bookies) paying in two fat wodges of £20 notes and one of £10 notes. Really thick wodges, definitely hundreds of pounds but more likely at least one thousand if not more. So, good. Betting shops aren’t suffering in the cost of living crisis. I wanted to ask how many days of trading that was, but didn’t.
My fear that the friendly woman in the wool shop would ignore me was justified, she turned away when I opened the door and started fiddling with a display of different shades and types of blue yarn, which didn’t look like it needed any help, actually, but one of the younger ones who hadn’t seen the temperature blanket got right into it, luckily. She pointed out that I had loads of different shades of purple left over – ready for the 30C+ temperatures that never arrived - so I’ll make the border out of them. I haven’t managed to make much sense of the instructions yet, because I’m really fucking tired and they’re full of abbreviations like BLdc/ BLsc which apparently means “Back Loop Double Crochet (US Back Loop single crochet): Double Crochet into back loop only” But that means nothing to me (oh, Vienna), it means nothing to me, it just makes me want to lie down and take drugs, so I haven’t started the border yet. I know I can find it all on Youtube but that in itself makes me tired – they’re so fucking cutesy, the crafters who post helpful videos. I mean, thanks, don’t think I’m not grateful, but don’t assume we all want to make fluffy bunnies, because we don’t.
I took the little dog with me as I have vowed to take her for a proper walk every day, or at least out in the fresh air but fuck me was it windy, or what? Mental. I am so sick of bloody wind, honestly, enough already. We walked across the footbridge and over to the beach, hardly any distance but I was exhausted, so much effort to keep putting one foot in front of the other. When I got home I discovered that it was a storm with a name, a stupid name I can’t remember, but didn’t we have one going on already? I suppose it was a bit quieter yesterday. This is climate change, in action.
This evening I’d signed up to do a collage workshop – making a collage to see you into the new year, full of desires, intentions, all that malarkey. With B who I do writing groups with. I did it last year, really enjoyed it and was looking forward to it. Bah. Knackered, ain’t I? I managed the first bit, introducing ourselves, the writing and chatting, the tearing words and images out of magazines, but the very thought of arranging it, making active choices was too much so I said I’m off now and came downstairs and watched Eastenders and some old Taskmasters.

12:24 a.m. - 03.01.24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Afternoon in the museum - 08.01.24
Funerals and festivals - 07.01.24
That Dog - 06.01.24
Round the Corner - 05.01.24
20:10 - 03.01.24

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter