annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Five


  1. Today in writing group we were invited to have a quick go at plotting a novel or story using one of the so called seven plots. I have a novel creeping along in dribs and drabs - I've been exploring the characters in these writing sessions, liking them but not sure where they're going and suddenly I got it! I chose Rags to Riches (aka rags to riches to back to rags for a bit before a final return to riches), obviously not financial riches, but proper stuff. I may get there, I may not. I may care, but I probably won't. Ambition has never settled down in me - it flickers briefly every now and then but not much. But exciting to have a plan and the feedback was that it 'had legs'.

  2. Had a swim with my girl, Daughter, in the open sea - really struggling with it still. I was in for a bit then got scared of waves towering over my head - I tried just staying with it, letting myself float up on them and then down - we were out past where they were breaking - but panic got the better of me and I had to get out. I did manage to get out on my own - Daughter was offering a hand and stayed right behind me in case I needed her, but I managed. I'll go back to the harbour for my next swim - I've had to get out ahead of everyone else for my last three swims and it gets on your wick. Daughter said I'm doing well though, that having a go is all I can do and I'm doing that, so not to give myself a hard time, but it's frustrating. 

  3. For the writing course (as opposed to the group) we're meant to be looking at power. She's given us two short stories to read, one by Carver and one by Hemingway and really, they can both fuck off. I'm not saying they're bad, just that I'm done with men, most especially that kind of man. Too much art of all kinds has been by and about men and power, especially straight, white men and I feel I've given them all the time I'm prepared to give. She's asked us to make an abstract triptych about power -  pretty demanding art work for a writing course - I'm doing one about the sea, as that's what's on my mind today. I don't know how abstract it will be. I'm not going to finish the Hemingway story - it's set in Africa - they're shooting animals for fun and to impress each other and it goes on forever. Fuck that.

  4. I really miss my art at the museum. It was meant to be off for four weeks - two weeks for the artist's annual leave, then another two weeks for the new manager to do an audit - as the artist only does these few hours it was the only time they could get together without having to pay her extra. But then some emergency has happened and she's taken another three weeks compassionate leave. I hope she's OK and her family. Such a nice, odd woman. Back on 27th October, so not that long. 

  5. Big Brother is back, so far so good. I love this kind of thing, just watching people. They do forget they're being filmed and are almost always interesting and unpredictable. 

11:54 p.m. - 09.10.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Floating - 17.10.23
Starting again - 16.10.23
Stuff - 14.10.23
Nine - 13.10.23
On Power - 10.10.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter