annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All Good

I want to say first that I'm amazed at how writing out that awful memory has really taken the sting out of it. When I saw my therapist and she asked what I thought would be my best next step, I said to crack on, do nice things, look after myself. She replied that although that was part of it, I'd just be shoving that memory back out of the way, and maybe it would be better to sit with it, maybe through writing about it. I couldn't see how that would make me feel better not worse, but she's good so I do what she suggests, mostly, and she was right. I really feel lighter, like I've put down a burden. Although I'm still fucked off about RB and how we all let him get away with so much for so long, I don't feel compelled to read everything about him any more, though as it's hopefully going to be another turning point in gender shit, I'm reading what thoughtful people are saying. 


But today was about going back to the Brighton recovery centre and doing a writing workshop, accompanied by C, my favourite of the workers there, the one who encouraged me to put my art up for sale and helped me actually sell shitloads of it. And it was just great, really enjoyable. A lovely group of service users, none I knew, all getting right into it at once, writing great stuff. We did a free writing starter, beginning with 'Today I saw...' - free writing is where you keep going no matter what, keep that pen moving. It's a great way to start as it stops people dithering about finding the best word and not getting anything down - we only have an hour, just write the words that come into your head first. People had noticed all sorts of things, all different, all interesting, some funny. Then I asked then to spend a minute writing a list of things they liked which we shared quickly, without comment, before we each chose one to write about for ten minutes and then to share. Lovely, it was, really enjoyable. One wrote about crocheting badly, making garments which people said were 'unique' or 'interesting' which she knows means they're shit, but doesn't care. We also had Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, trees, riding a bike along the seafront, good people, sea swimming (me) and music in general but trance and drum and bass in particular, written by a grey haired, conservatively dressed, older woman that was most unexpected and all the better for it. 


Then I mooched round places I used to love with Shirley who'd been left in the car in the shade of the trees in the park, came home and started making a sourdough loaf and a batch of rose hip syrup. I need bottles though. Tomorrow Daughter and I are going to an equinox something-or-other in the wild park. Exciting. I'll report back. 


And I only have two more episodes of Ted Lasso to watch. 

12:42 a.m. - 23.09.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Weekending - 02.10.23
Deer - 30.09.23
Tired - 29.09.23
Body - 26.09.23
Turn turn turn - 26.09.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter