annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gummy

What a day. All go, go, go and another one the same tomorrow. I had the dentist appointment about my dental plate which no loner fits, as predicted, due to slow shrinkage of gums after removal of teeth. I could have a new one for £300 or have this one bodged somehow to make it fit for £45. I told the dentist I didn't even have £45 spare till Thursday next week, and she smiled at me so I let her carry on taking impressions of my gums and lower teeth, filling my mouth with slimy pink goo that dribbled into my mouth and set hard on my tongue. Packing my plate up in something. She said it would be back on Wednesday so I went off to make an appointment and was charged the £45. It was busy, full of the usual wealthy patients of this very up-market dental surgery. I like to think I don't give a fuck so I struggle with the reality that in front of them I didn't say, "I'm sorry, I don't have the money to pay this now. Give me back my plate for now and I'll come back when I can pay." £45 is fucking nothing, is it? Four books. A cheap lunch for two. Ten separate occasions of parking for a couple of hours in Brighton. Instead I gulped back the tears, handed over my card and cried in the car. 


When I got home I had a call from the receptionist saying the lab are very busy and can't get my plate back till Thursday afternoon. Fucking great. Not only will I start my new zoom writing course with no teeth - I was ready for that and it's not too bad - the box with me in will be small - but on Thursday morning it's the next writing group I'm teaching and we'll all be together round the big table. Sigh. Not that I've taken a single booking yet - panic. If I take some bookings I'll make it through till my next PIP payment, but if not - I don't know. Tomorrow I'll put a reminder on Facebook. 


It was only later that it occurred to me that having no top teeth means I can't bite or chew, so fucking mushy food till Thursday afternoon. So I made a load of cottage pie, two days wort of that, and have the ingredients for fish pie, two days of that, as though I'll have teeth on Thursday I'll get back from yoga too tired to cook, so I'll do it tomorrow. Maybe.


Tomorrow I have that appointment with bloody Patrick at the recovery centre, followed by Tuesday zoom art group, then this new writing course, also zoom, for three hours. I'll need to walk between the art and writing or I'll seize up. too much zoom for one day but there you go. 

11:56 p.m. - 18.09.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Body - 26.09.23
Turn turn turn - 26.09.23
All Good - 23.09.23
Better - 21.09.23
Yeah, me too - 21.09.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter