annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tick

Starting early, need early bed, too tired for pronouns or other superfluosity. Acupuncturist said I'm right out of everything, running on empty, and I'm inclined to believe her. 


The dog got another tick yesterday - well, probably got it before that, we noticed it yesterday, on her bloody eyelid again, all swollen and horrible. Such a tricky place to deal with as she flinches away and you need to get a really good grip on the tick, to make sure you get it all out. Impossible. We tried Bloke holding her, me coming in with the implement, then the other way round and neither of us could get anywhere near. I was really fighting hard to keep a mega-anxiety attack at bay, which I did, mainly by walking away. In the end we got my niece K to do it - she's very placid with all that - she has horses and dogs and ticks are just part of life to her. Though we did need to put a muzzle on the dog and get K's bloke to hold her as I'm still not strong enough to hold her still. I went inside and looked after the baby, now a toddler - we danced together to some song on the radio and pretended we didn't know nasty stuff was going on outside.


From then on I was itchy as fuck all over, kept having to check there was nothing crawling on me, in fact as I write that I can feel it again, though there's nothing there. Today I got a medication from the vet that's anti-tick and anti-flea - it won't stop them biting her but it will poison them so they'll fall off and die. Poor little ticks and fleas - we all just want to live our lives. 


Today I had lunch with a woman whose existence I've been aware of for more than forty years - you know when you live somewhere and you're aware of friends of friends, who they are, though you may not have had much if anything to do with them. I can't remember what incident on Facebook brought us into each other's orbit but we soon realised that we're both lefty, feminist, wholefood, Guardian reading bastards so today we met for lunch and very nice it was too. Chatted non-stop for two hours while shoving food down, sitting in the sunshine. 


Now Ghosts USA is just starting again so I'm offski. I don't like it as much as the UK version because they don't have anyone ugly or dumb or obnoxious, but you get used to it and it's OK. I recommend it.


Today I am grateful for: a pill for the dog, lunch with a friend, a dark red poppy suddenly in bloom in the garden


 

11:30 p.m. - 30.05.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Five - 08.06.23
Ma - 06.06.23
Yin and things - 04.06.23
Knackered - 02.06.23
Shame - 31.05.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter