annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Three

4/3/24
1. Hard times again. Not awful awful, but not great. Bill’s wife phoned Bloke with the news that Bill had died and asked him if I could let people know – there’s a whole bunch of people he and I know that she doesn’t – so that was my task today and it’s been hard, passing on the worst of news. Some pick up at once that this is a serious phone call while others launch straight into some tale they want to share. He was loved and will be missed, that’s what we know.
2. In the field round the corner where I walk the dog when I can’t be arsed to drive anywhere, there’s a pen with four sheep, a big pen, that gets moved around as they nibble the grass down to its roots. I do quite like them being there – sheep are very much themselves, if you know what I mean – mad, blank eyes and very little sense. It’s also home to a flock of magpies which I like very much – I just googled the name for a group of magpies and honestly, these collective nouns are such a load of shite, aren’t they? This is what I found: “There are many collective nouns for magpies, but perhaps the most common names for a group of magpies are a conventicle, gulp, mischief, tidings or tribe of magpies.” Really? I’ve never heard anyone use any of them. Flock, that’s what we say. Anyway, I like them. And I keep seeing them in pairs and although I’m not superstitious (honest), I do know that it’s one for sorrow, two for joy.
3. I had a mad panic about money on Sunday night and all I could think to do was put photos of my recent paintings on Facebook and Insta and ask if anyone wanted to make me an offer – I sold three of them really quickly, for £50 each, so they’re off on their travels, all to friends in the US that I met here. One’s off to Alaska, where my Buddhist chef pal has returned to cook on a scientific research ship; one to Chicago, where the original keeper of my cats has gone home to look after her mum. Mom, I should say. And one to Vegas with my dear old friend J, who says she now has a wall of my paintings, god help her.

12:11 a.m. - 05.03.24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Ten - 12.03.24
Mothering Sunday - 12.03.24
Swimmin' Wimmin - 10.03.24
Likes - 07.03.24
High on the hills - 06.03.24

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter