annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

20/2/24
Five things
1. I swam in the harbour today with the local Mental Health Swims group. It was really fucking cold, biting wind, icy water, threat of heavy rain. Wondered what the fuck we were doing – all shrieked and swore as we got in then when the burning cold wore off we all started laughing and it was great and I was glad I went.
2. While we were all getting dressed as fast as we could one of the women mentioned that she’d been the daughter of anonymous donor sperm, had only found out recently, had a load of half siblings who immediately felt like family and they’d been featured on an ITV documentary series which I’d watched. I watched their episode again – she hadn’t found them when the programme was made but she’s very clearly one of them – their faces all link together in the most interesting, indescribable way. All half-siblings with different mothers but the same donor father. It’s fascinating how they all immediately make a connection – this woman said she’d been on the phone for four hours to one she hadn’t met or spoken to before. In the nature/nurture debate I’ve always leaned towards nurture so I find this quite amazing.
3. I pruned three of the roses when I got back and scattered rose feed around them forking it in. Then the dog came and snuffled it all up.
4. Daughter found my original sourdough recipe, the one that produced excellent bread. The proportion of starter to flour is completely different to all the other recipes – they call for 60g of starter, this for 200g for the same weight of flour.. I’m going to have another go – it’s been making me crazy that it was good for a while then utter shite ever after.
5. I’m on a 30 day referral for my dodgy mole. The doc said if they haven’t removed it within 30 days the trust gets a big fine. This is where we’re at with our NHS. Although, to be fair, I had some brilliant treatment yesterday. My intermittent tickly, dry cough increased in frequency from a couple of times a week to several times a day and I had a sudden panic that it was throat cancer. There’s a non-urgent online request form so I filled that in, had a response within an hour inviting me for an appointment that afternoon. The doc I saw examined me, throat, lungs etc, asked loads of questions then booked me in for a chest xray, just to be sure, though she said I sounded fine, sent a prescription through for something to soothe my throat and booked me in to see her again in a couple of weeks.

12:06 a.m. - 25.02.24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

High on the hills - 06.03.24
Three - 05.03.24
Bill - 04.03.24
Five - 28.02.24
Trying harder - 25.02.24

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter