annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Later That Summer

Twice in one day – woo hoo.
The other main event from this time, or while I was living in that house, also involved Tony. He was a good guy, it has to be said. An alcoholic – I just went to Facebook to check that he’s still alive and he does seem to be, good. Anyway, he was living in Redhill at this time when a load of us went to see JJCale at Hammersmith Odeon. On the way back I developed terrible pains, like I’d never known, so he said to stay at his, as the bumping of the car was awful. I did, got worse and worse during the night, doctor, hospital, appendix out, pain still bad if not worse, told to stop making a fuss, children made less fuss than that after appendectomy, discharged, took my painkillers, tried to keep going.
Tony had been a real pal during all this and we ended up as a couple. A few weeks later we’re in a club and I get a load of the pain again. I feel I need the loo, so go and discover I’m losing huge clots of blood. We go home to my place and try to call a doctor but I’m not registered so no one will take me. I think he tried 999 and was told that there had been a major incident so A&E was really full. He decided to drive me to my parents, just down the road, despite it being the middle of the night. They called 999 and I was taken to hospital in an ambulance where it turned out I was having an ectopic pregnancy which had just burst the tube it was lodged in. I had some kind of surgery, all a bit of a blur, but when I asked afterwards if I could have an IUD again (contraceptive coil) the doctor smirked and said there’d be no need as I would now be sterile. Fucker. It was only one tube I’d lost – I have been pregnant four more times since then. No, five.
I was discharged back to my parents, really wiped out, very thin and not in great shape at all and somehow it was agreed that I’d live back there. My brother was on his gap year, working in a factory, my sister had moved up north to live with some friends who’d bought an old village schoolhouse which they were converting into a home. I was doing rest and recuperation for a while – I can’t remember what else. Not drinking quite as much but still smoking loads of dope, mostly on the beach.
I seem to have a complete blank about this section – either nothing much happened, unlikely, or something fucking awful, more likely, that I’ve suppressed. I’ll come back to it tomorrow.
Meanwhile in the here and now, it’s fucking freezing but I’m meeting daughter for a swim – the wind is northerly which makes for a flat sea so we’ll swim off the open beach with the Mental Health Swim group. I haven’t been in for ages and feel a bit scared, but I also know that I’ve never regretted a swim in the cold sea.

12:12 a.m. - 14.01.24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Treading water - 21.01.24
Not for me, thanks - 20.01.24
Tired (again) - 19.01.24
Not phantom - 16.01.24
Waiting - 15.01.24

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter