annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Catch up

Hiya. I started writing here on Thursday and couldn't get going at all. But I never like not writing for long, so here I am, just popping in to say hello, mainly to my future self, in case there's no body else here. I'm meant to be writing about myself at different young ages to try and get a grasp of them for therapeutic purposes. But I haven't found the way into it yet. It'll probably turn up late Tuesday night and I'll stay up too late and be knackered in the morning when I have to drive through the rush hour in the rain. I mean, I don't know for sure there'll be rain, but it seems likely. 


Tonight Daughter and I saw two short Chekhov plays at a small theatre in Brighton. The Proposal and The Bear. We enjoyed the first one, but the second was too similar in both theme and character. Two shouty people who get together at the end. And the bloke in the second was far too loud and violent for such a small space. Good though - especially as I was only invited at the last minute when daughter's pal had to surrender her ticket due to a bad, coughing cold. 


Yesterday we had a sauna in a new place by the lagoon - a concrete based lake created for the purposes of learning things like paddleboarding and kitesurfing. When there's no one using it for those sports, you can get in to cool down during the sauna, but yesterday it was full of apprentice water-skiers so we had to use a metal bath as a plunge pool. I found myself astonished at my ability to get out of a boiling hot cabin and submerge myself completely in icy cold water. Several times. Who have I become? 


I've also been doing more making jellies and jams out of donated and foraged fruit, most recently quinces. There's going to be two different types - some will be quince jelly, in the British sense of it, using a recipe from the RHS - like jam, but strained. The other half will, I hope, become the Spanish-style membrillo, which has all the pulp blitzed, returned and boiled up with sugar till it turns pink, then sets hard enough to be thinly sliced and eaten with cheese. Fingers crossed. While clearing the kitchen after my first attempt today I knocked a heavy wooden chopping board off the worktop, in fact off a stack of stuff piled up on the worktop, which then landed on my foot, pointy corner side down. Fucking fuck. I might have broken my toe - it's very swollen and purple, but I took one of Bloke's Naproxen which took a while to get going but has killed the pain completely for several hours - it hurt driving to Daughter's but was fine by the time we came out of the theatre. Jeez, though, the pissheads on the street on a Saturday night.


 

12:18 a.m. - 05.11.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

A&E pt1 - 24.11.23
Back - 19.11.23
Five and a bit - 13.11.23
An E and an M and a D and an R - 10.11.23
The Way We Were - 06.11.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter