annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Toothless


After I'd been to the dentist, after she'd taken impressions of my jaws, mauling me about, quite strongly as the casts got stuck, after I'd handed over my dental plate, I found myself crying in the car, at 9.30 in the morning, on a city street. Luckily Daughter lives on the other end of that long road so I went there and she looked after me till it passed.

We planned our camping holiday in some detail as we're both a bit too flaky right now to be able to manage each other's whims. I can't remember what it all was now, but she has it written down. There's a bit of yoga, a solstice ritual of some description - I like a bit of all that every now and then, a bit druidy, wiccan-ish. Beaches - a good sea-glass beach, Margate - a great tidal swimming pool. Drawing, painting, writing. Dozing, snoozing, eating.


After lunch I collected M for a trip to a beautiful woodland garden, which is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, which I knew it was, really. Sigh. But we sat in the shade in a little bit of woodland and pondered the peculiarities of our mothers' generation, and their mothers and the truth of Larkin's This Be The Verse. (They fuck you up, your mum and dad/they may not mean to, but they do/they fill you with the lies they had/and add some new ones just for you). Which reminds me, on one occasion when we had to call paramedics to Sammie, two turned up, a bloke and a woman, and as soon as I opened my mouth the bloke said "Ms Notbob! (not really, silly, he used my real name) Ms Notbob! I'd recognise your voice anywhere!" He then proceeded to regale his colleague and the care workers with the tale of me teaching them that poem, of there being a complaint about it from a parent who thought it was about parents r*ping their kids and all the consequences of that and how (apparently) I became a legend in my own lunchtime. Yeah, yeah, but let's get my daughter into the ambulance, shall we? I can't even remember his name - he'd been 14 when I'd last seen him, now grown into an adult man. Still annoying, so definitely one of mine.


This evening I went for a swim with the local group, quite embarrassed about my lack of teeth, but it was too hot to not go. Lovely - the sea's definitely getting warmer.


I've got my Valium for tomorrow. 10mg to be taken 1 hour before my appointment.


Laters x

11:57 p.m. - 13.06.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Four - 28.06.23
Coooeee! Honey, I'm home! - 27.06.23
Laters - 18.06.23
Visitors - 15.06.23
Wow - 15.06.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter