annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quick Five

1. I was at the traffic lights knowing I’d wait a while so looked at my phone and saw Patti Smith was coming here in June. Last time she played here it was sold out by the time I heard about it, so when the lights changed I pulled over and bought two tickets over the phone. Only then did I spot that it’s on the Tuesday before the Glasto gates open on the Wednesday – I’d usually be there on the Sunday. Hmm. Does this mean I won’t go? Maybe. Or maybe I can get one of my pals to put my tent up before and I can go on the Wednesday – my first workshop is never till Thursday. Time will tell.
2. I went out for a Japanese dinner with Grandson and the GF last night. It was fab being out with them but I didn’t reckon the food much. They did – they love it but it’s not my thing. He’s going to Japan in April – he’s always wanted to so he’s saved up and has booked his ticket. He’s going with a friend, not the GF as she’s not that bothered. They’re such a good pair. They’re going to have one of the two cats, the one I like least as it happens, as they’ve fallen in love with her and to be honest I’d give her to the cat rescue people as soon as look at her – she’s scowling at me from the other sofa as I write – is she psychic? No, she always scowls at me – the dislike is mutual. GS wants to be called by his full Italian name now, since his Nonno died, which is harder than it sounds. It’s OK in writing, where I can go back and change it but I keep forgetting when speaking. I shall try though. A person can make their own decisions about that kind of thing.
3. I’m meant to think of stories about when I was in my late teens/early twenties but I’m fucked if I can think of anything other than more drug stories, like when my pal got a job in the pill factory and filled his pockets with downers on his way home every day and no one cared as they were just cheap shit to them. It’s a wonder none of us died, we took so many, but we all made it through. He didn’t work there for long – got the sack for being lazy and always late. Just as well.
4. In writing group at the recovery centre a new young person turned up who’s from Venezuela. Well, she’s not, she’s like my kids, Brit mother, Venezuelan father, born here, but her family were better off so she went there very often and her father stayed around so she’s bi-lingual. I was pleased that I’d written about something that happened to me there so it came up and we made the connection. She was cool – had great green hair and was a fantastic writer – very poetic.
5. I’m doing the ‘envelope border’ on my 2023 temperature blanket and fuck me, it’s a pain in the arse. Usually with crochet I can rattle along at a decent speed, but for this I have to jiggle the hook to get it in the right place. I worked on it for nearly two hours this evening to do about two feet. Mind you, this is the second round. The first was OK once I got started. I’ll post picture when it’s done – it’s going to look cool, I reckon.

12:27 a.m. - 28.01.24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

three - 05.02.24
Angela - 02.02.24
Purse - 30.01.24
Homes - 30.01.24
Scared - 29.01.24

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter