annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Windy

Jeez, the wind is driving me mad already and it’s only on Day 2. I know we’ve had a decent break from it but that seems to have vanished and it feels as though it’s been howling away forever. On the plus side I no longer live in a modern, flimsy house next to the river estuary and below sea level. I’m now up enough of a hill and far enough away from the river to no longer fear flooding or bits of the house falling off. This is a 1940s-built council house, solid as a rock. But still, the howling of the wind round the chimney is hard to bear.
It’s been a bit of a shit weekend really. I haven’t seen anyone except Bloke who keeps saying, “I’ll tell you something interesting…” and it’ll be about computers or some SF book he’s just read and it’s not remotely interesting. It’s fifty years since we used to phone each other up as soon as we got in from work and talk non-stop till we put the phones down and both went to the same pub where we carried on talking. Maybe that’s the trouble, we’ve heard every variation of what each of us has to say and if we never, ever hear it again we won’t mind. Though it is still possible to go out and make new stories – we don’t have to rely on the same ones from now on. Do we? No. Sadly, this is not an opinion we share.
The writing group I attend, as opposed to the one I lead, has moved from Monday to Wednesday and I can’t get to it. I might be able to catch some of it on weeks when my therapy is not too long or too intense, but I’m not sure how likely that is. Especially as now it will be everyone in the workshop in Sheffield, apart from me and Jenny, on Zoom, me from the south coast, her from the US. More people, at least some of them unfamiliar, at a time when I’m quite raw after therapy. Meh. I’ve loved this group so much.
That’s all today. Bed now.

12:22 a.m. - 22.01.24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Quick Five - 28.01.24
More - 26.01.24
Acid and opera - 25.01.24
Splash - 23.01.24
Monday - 22.01.24

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter