annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mel

19/4/24
The result of the biopsy came back and it was a melanoma. Apparently the best sort of melanoma, in situ, which just needs another, bigger chunk of my arm removed and it will be fine. But still. I knew when I saw the envelope on the mat- I recognized the NHS franking, blue, and it was a fat envelope, full of stuff, so not just ‘the results were clear, all good, nothing more to say.’
Thoughts:
1. It’s probably never good seeing the word melanoma applied to yourself, in fact it’s literally shocking. I went a bit funny for a while, home on my own, but I’m OK now.
2. It makes me think of Barb, whose untreated melanoma killed her. The NHS will (probably) keep me alive, but the letter said I ‘should’ receive a letter offering an appointment for the next bit within 4-6 weeks, which I’m guessing ‘should’ be within 4-6 weeks of receipt of that letter. But you read shocking things in the press about people waiting too long for cancer treatment. Meh.
3. I’m scared and a bit revolted. I hate the thought of them cutting into my flesh and removing it and I know it will knock me for six again. This last one left me so knackered.
4. Sunscreen. I’ll have to start wearing sunscreen. I hate it. Are there any that just get absorbed without making you feel sticky and sweaty for ages?
5. More time not swimming in the sea. Boo.
6. I’m scared

12:29 a.m. - 20.04.24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

- - 05.05.24
Good Tidings We Bring - 29.04.24
Meh - 25.04.24
Enough now - 21.04.24
Mel - 20.04.24

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter