annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy new year

I’m watching First Dates when I should be in bed because one of the women looks just like the mum of a friend of mine and I can’t quite get my head round the fact that it’s not her, though this woman is 54 and my friend is 70 so it can’t be his mum but it looks sooo like her. I don’t even like First Dates.
I learned a new word today. I was floating on my back in the sea, after the shock had worn off – that’s how it goes – oh fucking hell, what am I doing? Leading to – oh this is OK – it’s cold but not unpleasant – and the sun was out, really warm on my face. I said this out loud to any of the swimmers around me who might be listening – I didn’t know any of them but knew there’d be people swimming at high tide as there always is – and the woman nearest me said “Apricity, That’s what it’s called. The pleasure of the warmth of the sun on your skin in the winter.” We floated companionably together for a bit then she confided that she’d forgotten her shoes and was worried about walking up the shingle beach in cold, bare feet, so I said I’d walk next to her and she could take my arm and we did that and she did need my arm, then she took my photo as it’s part of my Arctic Tern Challenge (to swim four times a month between November and April), and it was all very pleasant.
Daughter and I met at the Asian grocer’s to watch the Lion dance for the Chinese New Year which was great. Loads of people, including quite a big group from the B&H Asian Society – all in yellow shirts with that printed on the back, so we knew. Half of them had trousers that matched the lion and took it in turns dancing underneath it to the sound of the drums, one of them in particular having a real talent for injecting the spirit of a real animal into the way he moved. Very cool.

12:38 a.m. - 12.02.24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

On My Radio - 22.02.24
Medical, yawn - 21.02.24
Ida in the city - 15.02.24
Meh - 14.02.24
Pals - 13.02.24

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter