annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Winner winner

Today was a good day. Up early and out with the dog in the wintery sunshine - honestly I don't know how it can change so fast here. Last night it was pissing down, today it was all blue sky and not a hint of wind. I walked along by the beach huts. Man, I want a beach hut so much, but they are mental fucking expensive. i can't imagine how much money I'd have to have for that to be top of my list. Can you imagine though, having a place to keep all your gear - your swimming gear, of course but also a chair, firepit, camping gas ring and coffee pot. A good shelf of books, some paints. I would sit there and paint that fucking sea till it looked like water, which would probably take me several years. Good years though.


Came home, prepped some of dinner then had the first of four monthly writing workshops with Cathy Rentzenbrink, which was ace. Laying down basics, or getting us to consider some. What helps us, what stops us? How aiming small can work better. How writing every day, not on The Great Work, but just any old writing, is a help, then aiming to set a specific amount of time or words or something on The Great Work just to bloody do it. Something small, a small target. If I wasn't so tired (was going to say lazy, but no, tired) I'd go and get the notes cos they were good. It made me feel good about writing here and for having done so all these years. I am a writer - I bloody write and that's what it takes. I'm going to keep on with both my projects - the Bella and The Cleaners and I know where to start.


So that was great, all afternoon, very uncomfortable chair, swapped it for a better one for next time already - yay - go me. Made the sage and onion sausage-meat stuffing then did my yin yoga class, starting to run out of steam by this point but didn't fall asleep once. Bloke did all the rest of the dinner, the best dinner I've had for ages - I think roast chicken is really improved by a few tastier bits and pieces like the stuffing and the bread sauce. But he has perfected roast potatoes, though it pains me to admit it. Absolutely perfect, golden and crisp on the outside, soft and delicious within. And look at all those veg: chard, carrots, parsnips, celeriac, onions as well as potatoes.


chickendinner


Then Pottery Throw Down - I love that programme. It's like Bake Off for potters and they make the most exquisite things - something so pleasing watching people using their skills and I've done enough pottery to know how hard it is.  Followed by a new episode of Vera. Fab. I actually had a message on Instagram from Patti Smith about Vera once. She was staying in a hotel in Paris while she had a string of gigs and she likes to wind down with Brit crime dramas. She named a few, asked for more suggestions, so I recommended Vera and got the reply, "Thanks Anna, I already know and love Vera." Still thrilled when I think of that. Patti Smith typing out my name...


So tomorrow I might get my car back. This would be good. 


And today I am grateful for a good day and for plans afoot for me to visit D in Glasto and to also call in on an old schoolfriend, recently linked to on Facebook, not been seen since we left school in 1972. We were bad girls together. But we're good now, honest.


Night night xx 

11:44 p.m. - 09.01.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Friday Fun - 15.01.22
Be gone - 14.01.22
Sunshine on Hove - 12.01.22
Misty - 11.01.22
Desking about - 10.01.22

other diaries:

jim515
manfromvenus
jarofporter
blueisnotred
orangepeeler
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
life-my-way
newschick
narcissa
SWORDFERN
dangerspouse
stepfordtart
ladyofjazz
outer-jessie
joistmonkey
annanotbob
simeons-twin
melodymetuka
ottodixless
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter