annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ready

I did the HIIT workout this morning, sweating like a maniac, but got to the end. It makes me a bit frustrated that I won't be able to do the Wednesday one, after missing last week, but there you go, I'll forget it soon enough. 


Tomorrow is the grief event in Sheffield, which I'm just about ready for. As I wrote that, I realised I'm not so I wrote a list. I mean I'm only going overnight so whatever I forget to take doesn't matter, apart from my meds, but they're top of my list so all good. I printed out my poem and my intro, and read it to my pal M, who assessed me like a Y11 speaking and listening GCSE task and gave me an A - I know they've changed the system (of course they have, can't have those teachers getting too familiar with the rules) and what was an A is now either a 1 or a 9, or maybe a 2 or an 8, as it wasn't an A*. 


Anyway, this is it, with most of the names taken out:



Hi, my name is Anna and I live on the south coast, near Brighton. I’ve always swum in the sea during the summer, but last year was the first time I kept going into the autumn and the winter. In November I spotted a post from a woman named Helena: “I am a bereaved mother, swimming in the cold, winter sea for solace. Are there any others who would care to join me?” Yes! I hadn’t known how much I needed this, until I found it. We always start our swims by saying who we swim for and naming our lost children. So tonight I will read this poem for them. For my Sammie, and...


 


 


Song for Grief Warriors 


 


Helena started this part of our story 


No longer able to just be ‘poor me’ 


I can’t be alone in living this way 


I must find some others to help me stay 


In this lonely world so sad without him 


I just need others to help me stop shouting, 


“Come back, come back, come back!”


Others who get it, who never would say 


You’ll feel better, time heals, you’ve another child anyway


 


So who else is out there, lonely and scared?


Will you join with me, our sorrows to share? 


We’ll sit in the wind on the cold hard stones 


And listen, each to each, though we’re chilled to the bones


 


We’ll tell our stories, their stories 


Your son, her son, our poor daughters


We’ll cry and we’ll hug then run into that water 


Icy cold, quick, quick, get in, don’t wait 


Step into the pain, the shock, oh that’s great 


We grab hands, hold tight as waves come crashing, 


The sea splashing our faces, we stand tall, all together


Waves breaking, tears flowing, we swim and we call 


Where are they? Where are they? They can’t just be gone 


The gulls take their cries


away


away


away 


 


Back on the beach, skin red, faces glowing 


It’s towels and hugs, hot blankets, love growing 


Between us so quickly, so solid so true 


You’ll be there for me just like I’m there for you 


We’ll remember their faces, their names, who they were 


The water will hold us, break open our hearts 


Then mend us and cleanse us 


Break open our hearts


 


Anna M


Spring 2023


 



 

11:41 p.m. - 22.05.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Tick - 30.05.23
Garden and that - 28.05.23
Fit - 28.05.23
Too much, too old - 26.05.23
IRL - 25.05.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter