annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good

I had such a good day today. I went back to the best recovery centre as a guest for the Artists' Open Houses private view and saw so many of my old friends and colleagues - what can be better than seeing one person after another's face light up at the sight of you? I was especially pleased to see F, one of the first non-binary people I've known, who had always been very curled in on themselves, very private, very serious, but still friendly and an amazing artist. Today, there they were standing tall, looking all loose and relaxed - turns out they finally got the right medication to stop the migraine that had been almost continual since they were a child. Aw man, so good. We kept having hugs and laughing. There was a lot of that. 


The guy who'd been manager and had helped me set up the writing group was there - last summer A had told me he'd be cool with having me restart it so I emailed him about it but never heard back. Today he said hi and asked how the writing group had gone. It turned out by the time I got round to contacting him he'd finished doing the maternity cover and had gone back to whatever else he does, having asked someone else to sort it, which hadn't happened. So today he asked me to resend the email to him, and also B the actual manager, back off maternity leave, asked me to email her about it, with a plan. I'd love to be able to go back there, to have a role and a connection. It's such a brilliant place - a beautiful old building, clean, spacious and well kitted out, staff that are well cared for - loads that have stayed there for years - who then care for the clients. Everything about it says the people who go there matter, deserve to be treated well and cared for. Not like that shower at my current place, who still haven't reopened it to clients since the pandemic. Closed down our art room, got a skip to chuck all the materials onto, now it's just offices. Fuck them. 


I'm enjoying the I'm a Celebrity in South Africa, though it's odd not being in the jungle, and not being just coming up to Christmas, but I couldn't watch the last series with that fucking ex-Health Minister in there, I could not and would not listen to him droning on, making excuses for the awful things he did during lockdown. So I missed it and am pleased to watch this as I like watching people rubbing along together. I love Joe Swash who's just like our mate Charlie, one of Son's school friends, amiable as you like, heart on sleeve, not the brightest button but always good to be around. He's gone now, just as well, he kept crying about missing his kids, but now I'm enjoying Carol Vorderman climbing up things, being game for anything, no make up, unbrushed, unwashed hair, making all us women in our 60s proud. 

12:09 a.m. - 11.05.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

- - 17.05.23
Not me, mate - 14.05.23
No - 13.05.23
Then - 13.05.23
Hanging on - 12.05.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter