annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mostly Telly

Add New Post


Save draft
Preview
Publish


Edit visually

Telly mostly

I do watch a lot of telly but not just late night Channel 4 programmes about sex, which is all I ever seem to mention here. At the moment I'm enjoying  Channel W having an old episode of DIYSOS on every night. I know it's cheesy - someone writes in about a family they know who are struggling with a house that no longer meets their needs, usually because of some form of disability - British houses are so small, with such narrow doorways they really aren't wheelchair accessible - and Nick Knowles and his small team of tradesmen put out a call for help. They want skilled workers and labourers and materials, all for free, then they descend and in either a week or ten days turn the house from a prison into a place you can live a life, a full life. The designers are brilliant and everyone works like a demon and loves it. I've always loved it, despite everyone else thinking it's shite, for a range of reasons, none of which I can remember, though the word manipulative was in there for sure. It makes me think of Sammie, and reminds me that loads and loads of people find themselves plunged into a caring role and many of them live desperate fucking lives for years - honestly some of the situations people find themselves in are too awful and I wouldn't watch it if it weren't for the joy when they can spread out, wheel themselves everywhere, often with a lift to get them upstairs, drop down counters so they can work in the kitchen, which is always big and open plan - yes, they usually knock up an extension - it's amazing what hundreds of blokes can do with a good project manager and a good heart. The rest of the family are always remembered too - each kid gets the best bedroom possible, with personal touches, sometimes Lawrence Llewellen Bowen designs extravagant wallpaper and has just a roll or two made for a child's room. Their faces as they're shown around are the very antidote to this fucking world of shite and cruelty with politicians and prime ministers shrugging off stories of working people unable to replace a light bulb till they next get paid. And every now and then they go back to see how the families are getting on and it's fucking great. Their faces are just different not living with all the stress. 


I watch mainly shows with members of the public in, one way or another. Earlier I watched one about people paying to have their homes redesigned, within their budget ()always massive, with CGI or virtual reality or whatever it's called, which is quite jolly. What I really like, especially in the light of some of the shite going on in the US, is that like tonight, programmes like this often have gay couples, without making anything of it at all. Tonight's couple were introduced as Julie and Lisa (or whatever, I did forget their names) who bought the house in the 1990s, brought up their two daughters here and are now enjoying visits from their grandchildren. No big deal, nothing needs to be said, just a family, living in a house. We have to remember that the BBC is fucking crap at news, due to its very existence being within the remit of the bastard government, but so good at so many other things. Though to be fair, all the other channels are also cool about gay people. 


This morning I had a zoom with the woman who owns the fitness program I'm doing, which was very pleasing. She's happy to be working with someone who isn't driven by a desire to be thin, who knows about nutrition. She liked that I posted this photo of me on the beach and urged me to share it on the Facebook page which I did.xmaseveswim


It's my 'before' pic because I hate all those dreary 'before' photos, with slumped shoulders, droopy bellies and often dull lighting. Fuck that. Bed now.


12:20 a.m. - 23.03.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Our Day Out - 29.03.23
Cooking - 28.03.23
Memories - 26.03.23
Food - 26.03.23
On This Day - 23.03.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter