annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend

Hiya


I hope you're all as well as can be, out there in blogland. I'm good, I think. I had a bit of a wobble earlier when several people at once texted/messaged/dm-ed to ask if we could not do that thing then, but do it another then, and maybe a different thing.  I mean, it wasn't the end of the world but it does my head in having so many places to communicate. The phone is text or whatsapp then there's email or facebook message and now Instagram message and it's too much for my poor brain to handle. And never mind when there are people in groups who also have individual accounts. 


Anyway, last night was MC's 70th birthday party and it was lovely. Fifteen of us in a private room in this swanky restaurant, most of whom I knew, some I didn't, all united in thinking that M is one of the best people alive. She's just a bundle of gorgeous, silly, kindness and I'm so glad to have her in my life. We met in my first week at Uni when my youngest two kids were in the creche with M's daughter and we've been friends ever since. 1985, that was. She'd already done her degree and was working there as a secretary, with her daughter in the fabulous creche while she decided what to do. In the end she went into teaching, a year ahead of me, then moved into Special Needs and is now a consultant, still working a bit because she loves it. I sat next to a woman I'd shared a house with in the 1970s - we haven't seen each other much in the intervening years but every time we do, we fall right into it as if we still met in the kitchen every morning. it was good.


Today, swim in the sea with Daughter, the coldest getting dressed since I started. The sea was much the same, fucking freezing, but familiar now and manageable, but a cold wind when you get out is a bit harsh. 


Bed now. 


I am grateful today for having such good friends in my life - such good people, no one mean or untrustworthy, just kind and nice and easy to hang out with. 

12:04 a.m. - 13.03.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Sunday Sunday - 20.03.23
Are you there, Bert? - 17.03.23
Tired (surely not?) - 16.03.23
Tuesday - 14.03.23
Bert - 14.03.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter