annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wordy word words

I slept like a tired thing and didn't wake up till 11.30 this morning, just as singing would have been ending. Boo. And good, too. But at least I didn't sleep through the time for my haircut. 


This evening I did another songwriting workshop. I really enjoy the different methods used to lead us in to finding a song. Tonight we did free writing for about five minutes - mine was all about the Salty Grief Warriors - I'm full of feelings for the two approaching the first anniversary of their sons' deaths at the moment, can't see anything else for long. Read it through and circle any bits that seem promising. Then we had to grab any three books, open them at a random page and jab a finger at it, then write down the phrase where it landed. I grabbed a Daphne Du Maurier, a poetry book and a recent novel, but the phrases I landed on were resolutely simple. 'I told her that', 'I was just lucky,' 'It takes too long,' That kind of thing. Then list positive attributes that came to mind - not a final top ten, just things that feel good today, right now. Strength, resourcefulness, persistence. Lastly we had to jot down the titles of any songs we could think of that had names in them. We were aiming for some kind of story song. 


At this point we had five minutes to ponder and make lists of rhyming words - near rhymes and clear rhymes - for any of the words we'd chosen - a quick check-in to be sure we all had something to be going on with and off we went. We'd been sent some backing tracks to work with but I just played it on repeat in the background and wrote a big fast load of words about us grief warriors which I then cried through as I read it out. 


 

12:13 a.m. - 24.02.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Kids - 02.03.23
Home Alone - 28.02.23
Up the Downs - 27.02.23
Bears - 26.02.23
Thanks - 25.02.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter