annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Marmalade made


  1. January 11th is a day and a half. It's my friend D's birthday, 67 today, still up and at it, leading the Glasto kids' field decor crew like a warrior. On her birthday 18 years ago, we went to the first two of three funerals for her sister and my best mate J, whose car went off a mountain road in Spain. It's also the day David Bowie died and now Jeff Beck. But on this day four whole years ago, my daughter gave up the booze and the other stuff so today we celebrated four years clean and sober. With a swim in the harbour, of course. She says “Don’t suffer in silence! Come and join us!”  By which she means in sobriety, not the harbour.

  2. My therapy was cancelled for the first time as the therapist is ill, too poorly to be properly present she said. She texted me just after I'd got out of bed so I got straight back in and slept and dreamed and dreamed and dreamed, wild dreams, till11, which had me in a tizz to get everything done before meeting Daughter at 12. You have to have eaten before you get in a cold sea and you need a hot water bottle and a hot drink when you get out. It was lovely though - the weather forecast had been saying 100% chance of rain, but it wasn't, there was a blue sky and only a moderate wind and we loved it. I just looked up the water temp and apparently it's 9.2C which is 50.7F. It'll go down to 5C in all probability by March, when it will start to warm up again, very very slowly. 

  3. I did more than I thought I would in terms of getting shit done. Like the marmalade that I fucked up on Sunday - I finished that today - eight jars of very variable sizes, but well set and delicious. I'll give most of it away as I found loads of last year's still in the larder. I took three bin bags of clothes to the charity shop, that have been lingering in my car for months. And after the kind woman in the knitting shop picked up the stitches I'd dropped, I caught up with my knitting. I now have 27 squares to knit to complete the body, plus sleeves and edges. 

  4. The bed went yesterday and I slept on my old bed for the first time in years. I bought it with the lump sum I got with my teacher's pension back in 2014 but only slept in it for a year before moving here and getting the other one. This one is fine - I like it. I have about a week to get stuff packed up ready to swap rooms. This makes me feel tired rather than excited, but I know there's excitement there too.

  5. The singing teacher posted a thing about the choirs she runs, inviting people to come along, saying it costs a fiver if you can afford it, or less or nothing at all if you can't. After all that fuckery yesterday I texted and asked if I could not pay for a few weeks and she texted back at once, "Yes, of course! Loads of people don't pay!" How does she make a living? I'll take her a jar of marmalade.

12:35 a.m. - 12.01.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Wrongs - 19.01.23
Yarn based, mostly - 17.01.23
Too hot - 16.01.23
Pause - 15.01.23
Tired Five - 12.01.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter