annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cutting and Sticking


  1. I'm writing while half watching Baz Luhrman's Romeo and Juliet, which I think is amazing. We're at IIIi where it all goes to shit - fabulous scenery and visuals. I thought I'd arrived at a point of never wanting to see any Shakespeare ever again, but actually, I just needed a break after teaching him for so long. Clare Danes is perfection. 

  2. This morning was the new year mental health swim, on the beach in Hove. We've formed a sub-group of bereaved mothers, the Grief Warriors, which is just brilliant. This is the second time we've met, two of us that met before and a new one - you'd think cold water swimmers who are also bereaved mothers would be a vanishingly small number but in fact there are about 8 of us, though not all have yet made it to a swim. It's just so good though, discovering that I'm not the only one who's wanted to obliterate all the fucking happy families I see around me. Not always, but sometimes. The sea was scary for me today. I tried, but there was a really strong pull, plus a sudden step down from knee deep to out of your depth. Most of the group went in, but several of us chose to do what they call 'pilcharding' or sitting on the edge letting the waves wash over you. That's me on the right, the one who was surprised that she couldn't get into a size 18 costume and needs a 20. Jeez, I hope the 20 will fit. first dip

  3. This afternoon I did a zoom collage workshop, making a collage to represent the year ahead in some way. As I don't buy magazines I was pretty low on resources for words, rather than images - apparently next year I will find the magazine Psychologies a good source of the kind of words I would have liked, about relationships and all that, but I was pleased with what I managed with last Saturday's Guardian and an ancient National Geographic. I wouldn't have put 'my life back' so big, but that's how big it was and it's OK actually. collage23

  4. That's all I have - I thought I could manage five paras a day, like fruit and veg, but it seems not every day

  5. But I will, even if I have nothing to say. Leonardo DiCaprio is pretty bloody good in this (R&J) as well - I think this was his first big part - it wasn't, I just checked - he was a mere boy. But Luhrman does have them both alive for a few moments at the end, which is just naughty.

11:48 p.m. - 02.01.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Busy - 08.01.23
Sunshine - 06.01.23
Knitting stff - 06.01.23
Dazed and Confused - 05.01.23
Wombats - 04.01.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter