annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Farewell 2022

Review of the year


I stole this from Narcissa in 2017 - sorry about the fucked up formatting - can only seem to make it worse



  1. What did you do in 2022 that you’d never done before? I kept on swimming in the sea, past the summer, through the autumn and into the winter. Coldest so far was air temp of -2C but the water isn’t yet as cold as it will get. I love it.

  2. I joined a choir and sang in two public concerts

  3. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Can’t remember, probably not.

  4. What would you like to have in 2023 that you lacked in 2022? I’d like to have the steroid injection that may cure the pain of the trapped nerve enabling me to do the things I want to do, like swim, proper yoga, bike riding.

  5. What was your biggest achievement of the year? I don’t know. Keeping going perhaps. Sticking with therapy when it became hard.

  6. What was your biggest failure? Misreading Son and making matters much worse between us

  7. Did you suffer illness or injury?Yes. I had Covid. Not as badly as many but bad enough

  8. Whose behavior merited celebration? 


My friend SB, who finally put herself and her needs first and the sky didn’t fall on her head, instaed her siblings stepped up




  1. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Politicians, both Cons and Lab – the latter for offering no real alternative, fuckers.

  2. Where did most of your money go? Cafes, yoga and therapy

  3. What did you get really, really, really excited about?  Sea swimming, singing and going to Sheffield

  4. What song will always remind you of 2022?   Chaise Longue by Wet Leg

  5. Compared to this time last year, are you: (a) happier or sadder? (b) thinner or fatter? (c) richer or poorer


I think I’m both happier and sadder as since doing therapy it’s all coming up to the surface. I’m fatter. No change financially.



  1. What do you wish you’d done more of? Writing.
    14. What do you wish you’d done less of?Watching telly

  2. How did you spend Christmas? Quiet, just Bloke and Daughter. Can’t be arsed with it. Though Daughter and I had a Christmas Day swim in the harbour
    16. Did you fall in love in 2022?  Hahahaha

  3. What was your favorite TV program?I don’t do bests but I liked Traitors recently, Taskmaster – I haven’t had much brain so I’ve only watched easy stuff

  4. What was the best book you read?I came to it late, but Maggie O’Farrell’s Hamnet is glorious

  5. What was your greatest musical discovery?Viv Albertine of The Slits – came late to her as well. And Wet Leg – very fab

  6. What did you want and get?


  7. What did you want and not get? A camper van


  8. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?I can’t even remember, 68, hurrah for a blog – I swam naked in the sea with my daughter and had two meals with two different friends in delicious restaurants

  9. What one thing made your year immeasurably more satisfying?


Spending good time with my daughter and with my friend SB



  1. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2022? Fuck off

  2. What kept you sane?


It was a close run thing. Nature, walking, yoga, my dog



  1. What political issue stirred you the most?


Having a government that’s completely unaccountable, lying, cheating, profiteering, destroying the NHS, allowing so much that is valuable to close due to unaffordable energy bills – ach I could go on forever
27. Who did you miss? 


Sammie, Andrew, Sarah, Julia,
28. Who was the best new person you met? 


Ginny – I knew her as an online yoga teacher but we graduated into a real life, face to face friendship



  1. What is a valuable life lesson you learned in 2022.


Do it now, who knows how long you’ve got   



  1. What was the best thing you bought?


Alpaca bed socks – life changing



  1. What countries did you visit?


None. I went to Sheffield though – that was an adventure


 

10:04 p.m. - 31.12.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Knitting stff - 06.01.23
Dazed and Confused - 05.01.23
Wombats - 04.01.23
Cutting and Sticking - 02.01.23
On we go - 02.01.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter