annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Five on Friday


  1. I'm back on the meditation, Headspace, done 71 consecutive days - they keep a total for you. 6,686 minutes. It's good. I stick with Headspace because I know what it will be, lovely Andy, with his down to earth, dead normal English accent, slightly different every day. It definitely keeps me more grounded, less inclined to drift into pessimistic fantasies, more likely to take things a day, an hour, a minute at a time. I always open my window before I start as one of the first things is to notice all the sounds around you and with the double glazing I can't hear anything. It's often cold but fresh and lovely and I can hear the wind and the occasional seagull. Then there's a quick body scan, then the focus moves to the breath. That's the essence of meditation, focus on the breath. People think it's about thinking of nothing, emptying the mind, but that's not possible, it's just watching the breath. But, he always says don't alter your breath in any way, just watch as it flows naturally. How can you do that? As soon as you look at it it starts going funny, deeper or wider or something. Then I have to remind myself to stop thinking about how I'm watching the breath and just fucking watch it. But it's cool in the end.


  2. I found this in an old blog, stylish or what? "I arrived at a curious outfit the other day - one that caused people to look me up and down, with expressions that said, "Really? You chose that?" which caused me to give them a cold, hard stare back, that said they could go fuck themselves, right here, right now, but then I caught sight of myself in a shop window... ah. It started OK, with my just-below-the-knee-length parrot-print skirt and a longish plain blue top. Then I got a dressing put on my leg which I wanted to hide and all that came to hand was my dark green yoga trousers, nice and baggy but with cuffs at the ankles. Not great with the skirt, but I'd been liking how the skirt swished about so I kept it on. But it then got cold so I put on my fake-fur leopard print waistcoat, but still not enough so on went the ugly, beige, duvet coat, which I now couldn't do up. And my short, bird-print waterproof boots and a woolly hat. And a scarf, which didn't match with anything at all, but is my favourite scarf. I felt OK until I saw myself. Oh."


  3. Grayson Perry has been given a Knighthood in the New Year's Honours, ffs. I'd think more of him if he'd turned it down like decent people do. Being honoured by this bunch of cunts is no honour. Knight of the British Empire - fuck that shit. Robbery with violence, enslavement - awful. A source of shame not pride.

  4. I'm going to make a new year collage with B (writing pal B), on a zoom workshop. She does a collage every year, not in a 'manifesting' way but to keep things in mind, to remind you what you're working towards. I do fancy that but I am totally devoid of magazines - am I going to have to buy one? 

  5. I just watched Jason Manford's show of his last tour, which he ended with a big sing song - it evolved out of a bit he did about trying to home educate his kids during lockdown, about how we remember all kinds of useless shit, but all that algebra fucked right off. He starts singing a song that we all used to have to sing in assembly when he were in infants school, 'He's got the whole world,' and he stops, looks at the audience, who all sing back 'in his hands,' because he's right, we do reember all the songs we ever knew. He riffs on it for a bit then gets them all singing and they fucking love it, because it is great, singing in a crowd. I always thought they should bring that back - start each school day with everyone in the main hall, doing karaoke to something current and singable. It would get everyone in a better mood, surely?  

12:06 a.m. - 31.12.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Dazed and Confused - 05.01.23
Wombats - 04.01.23
Cutting and Sticking - 02.01.23
On we go - 02.01.23
Farewell 2022 - 31.12.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter