annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

W/E

Mad weekend, full of activity, too much for me, really. Yesterday I went to a crime fiction festival, just down the road. I didn't really know what it would be like - I love crime fiction, but did I really want to spend the day listening to people banging on about it? I decided I'd go home when I'd had enough, even if that was pretty soon but it turned out to be fucking great. Panels of three authors at a time, with a chair, asking good questions. They were all really interesting and I ended up wanting to read all their books. I especially liked Dorothy Koomson, in fact I bought one of hers, she made people laugh in her books as well as making them page turners that deal with big issues. The one I bought is about coercive control, All My Lies are True. Trevor Wood has written three crime novels set amongst the rough sleepers of Newcastle. Lesley Thomson was really interesting about research, and had some great tales from a London Tube driver, which feature in one of her books, not sure which. Nadine Matheson is a barrister working in the field of criminal justice and as a black woman writes novels that reflect aspects of her experience. Also Amen Alonge, first person tales of gangland life in London - all of these books were raved over by the chair of their various panels, clearly genuinely. 
Obviously, by the end of this I was knackered, so much thinking and concentrating. I bumped into an old friend from university, made friends with the woman I sat next to and volunteered to get involved with organising the literary festival next year. It's in the town where I used to live and they started up a couple of years after I moved out, with quite a few of my old pals involved. 
After that I came home, lit the fire and lay on the sofa watching Strictly and the like before going to bed at 10, unheard of for me, before Bloke, and slept through till 8 this morning. 
Today was all physical - a walk by the river with my pal K - we're only starting to get to know each other better and today was fab - we walked too far, talking non-stop, honestly we're both doing the same stuff in therapy, after so many similar traumatic events. Then I swam with daughter, in the harbour, colder but still fab. I need to take more clothes for after though - a hat, warm trousers, a scarf. Then Sunday yoga. Madness.

11:49 p.m. - 16.10.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Another day - 24.10.22
BP - 23.10.22
Friday - 22.10.22
Tricky - 18.10.22
Old Friends - 18.10.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter