annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weds

My life feels as if it's gradually taking on a different shape, though this may, of course, be entirely an illusion. I've been to choir practice three times, always feeling too tired, always meaning to rest up on Tuesday afternoons but so far Bloke has been at home then and I can't manage an afternoon in with him in the house, so off I toddle.


Yesterday I swam with daughter in a stormy sea at low tide. I was nowhere near out of my depth but I didn't stay in long as I kept getting knocked down by the big waves and a little of that is more than enough. I always use the word swim, but I don't. If it's calm I float on my back and if it's rough I jump up and down in the waves. Still waiting for the steroid injection which may free up the trapped nerve and enable me to do the breast stroke leg action again. Getting undressed outside when it's cold, which it isn't really yet, was as horrible as it sounds - nothing about it is great, apart from how you feel afterwards. And it's only October, still warm. My only commitment is to giving it a go. Maybe tomorrow, maybe Friday. It seems important to go often enough for the falling temperature to be nearly imperceptible, but that might be madly unrealistic. 


I've had an invitation to go on Radio 4's book club again, which was cool. To discuss AJ Pearce's novel Dear Mrs Bird, which I'd never heard of. I've downloaded a free sample to see if I like it but I'll probably say yes anyway. It's back in the studio, which I like, BBC and all that, and a day out in London. 


I made a Spanish style goat stew yesterday in the slow cooker, which was probably the best thing I've cooked for ages. The goat I got was full of bones and big fatty chunks which is good for flavour but doesn't make good eating so I left it overnight then today picked all the bones and lumps of fat out, added a tin of cannelini beans (alongside the stuff already there: mushrooms, onions, garlic, orange zest, chorizo, red wine, a tin of tomatoes, paprika). I made loads so we can have it again tomorrow. 


 

12:39 a.m. - 06.10.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Weds - 12.10.22
Better - 12.10.22
Scary sea - 10.10.22
Tired Five - 09.10.22
More about goat - 07.10.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter