annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Swim

Over the weekend I joined a local cold water swimming group and today went for my first sea swim with them. I think it's the latest in the year I've swum and definitely the first time I enjoyed it this late in the year. Before, I was trying to hold onto swimming as a lovely summer activity and October water is too cold for that really, but today was my first step into winter swimming so it felt pretty damn good. 


I searched online to see where the nearest group is because you mustn't swim alone in winter; where Daughter lives is too far to go every day and parking is too expensive. I found one group in the village where I live but, honestly, they're such a load of fuckers round here. You have to be put forward as a member by someone (though to be fair there are a few who are prepared to meet you for a prelimary swim if you don't know any members), then you have to pay to join, then a monthly membership fee. For what? For access to a facebook page where swims are announced. They're like that with beach cleaning here. I remember the first time I picked up litter on the beach near the nice cafe, someone came bustling up, asking what I was doing, getting all indignant because this was her section that week, telling me about the group, its next meeting, the agenda blah blah yawn yawn. My lovely group just says pick up litter anywhere, any time, any amount and if you like, share a photo with #2minutebeachclean. Likewise the swimmers. All the other groups just have a page, some admins, and anyone who fancies a swim puts up a post and people say if they're going to go along as well. 


So this afternoon there were just three of us, at what will be my new regular swimming spot, by the fish hut, which is cool - not open today as the boats don't go out on Sunday so there's no fish on Monday - but a hut on the beach selling fish from the sea. There's a car park that's free - not sure if it is in the summer but it is now and there's a cafe a short walk away. The beach is like it is here - a shingle bank, but no sand at low tide, just smooth, flat rocks all covered in slimy seaweed, so swims are tide based. Two and a half hours either side of high tide is good, apparently and today we were indeed two and a half hours before high tide and it was fine. One of the other women came in for a swim, then shot off to get to her job, the other just paddled today, then we sat around and chatted. She's in her eighties, does yoga and her daughter died the same year as Sammie. I know - you couldn't make it up. So we sat and talked for ages. I hope I see her again - she said she's often there as she lives nearby.


On the way home I stopped at the international supermarket and bought half a kilo of mixed goat meat which I'll do something with tomorrow, in the slow cooker. I felt cleansed and invigorated and now I'm going to bed without even waiting up for wordle. I have my therapy tomorrow as Wednesday is yom kippur. My therapist is kind of narked about it - she says she was brought up with religion forced upon her and she's not done that with her children and now they're asking it of her. But she's being a good mummy.


Good night xx

11:47 p.m. - 03.10.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Better - 12.10.22
Scary sea - 10.10.22
Tired Five - 09.10.22
More about goat - 07.10.22
Weds - 06.10.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter